Turquoise Acetone Wash Nails

28 Jan

Another acetone wash?  Yes!  I’ve been wanting to do this combination for a while.  I know it’s not technically the color of a turquoise stone, but isn’t that what it looks like?  I love it!

With my past acetone washes, I’ve used non-acetone polish remover.  This time, just to see what would happen, I tried acetone polish remover and 100% pure acetone.  Pure acetone eats through a little too fast, but is good for going in with a brush to get some fine lines.  Non-acetone just takes too long.  My pick is an acetone based remover.  You just have to take care not to rub through all the layers of polish.

For this design I used 2 coats of Color Club Nouveau Vintage then layered 2 coats of China Glaze For Audrey on top.  Once it had had some time to dry, I went to work.  I topped it off with Jordana Quick Shine top coat.  I seriously heart this mani.  I think these colors are fabulous together.

7 Responses to “Turquoise Acetone Wash Nails”

  1. Laurie January 28, 2012 at 11:54 am #

    Love it! I’ve yet to do an acid wash! I think I need to get on board!

  2. MariJo January 29, 2012 at 10:37 am #

    This looks amazing!! I have to give it a try.

  3. Meredith @ Polish and Charms January 30, 2012 at 12:33 am #

    That is awesome!!! I am going to have to try this!!!!

  4. Amanda Berry June 2, 2012 at 6:58 pm #

    This is such a great idea, I can’t wait to try this! And I have been going through your site and “pinning” tons of your stuff – it’s all so beautiful!!

    • TopCoatIt June 2, 2012 at 8:13 pm #

      Thank you so much Amanda!

  5. thebirdofparadise August 1, 2012 at 8:52 pm #

    Oh my goodness!!! I subscribe to Paint My Nails at Midnight, and I found your blog because she did a mani based on your post here. So, of course, I came over to your “house”, and I’ve been browsing and drooling to my heart’s content!

    Of all the awesomeness you have at your blog, I think that this is my favorite. I am still a novice, but one day I will attempt this and wear some jewelry I own that will complement it exactly!

    Thanks for the inspiration. 🙂 I am loving your blog!

    • TopCoatIt August 1, 2012 at 8:57 pm #

      You are so sweet!! Thank you so very much! You are welcome at my house any time! Feel free to invite your friends! 😉

Comments are closed.