Black Rhinestones

18 Jul

I have a pair of black, peep toe heels that have various sizes of black rhinestones covering the toe that I love!  They inspired this mani.

I initially started by putting several rhinestones on each nail in a random order; no rhyme or reason to it really.  There’s no obvious pattern to the rhinestones on the heel, so I thought that was okay.  I was very, very wrong.  Then, I put a top coat over the rhinestones.  Bad idea!  I hoped that it would photograph better than it actually looked.  Strike three!

I ended up taking it off, deleting all the pictures and starting over.  New polish and new plan of attack.  I started with Sally Hansen Black Out.  I put it on nice and thick so I only had to use one coat.  I added a thick coat of Jordana Quick Shine top coat one nail at a time so I could add the rhinestones before the top coat had too much time to dry.  No top coat on top this time.  I’m really pleased with the results.

I actually thought about putting  a matte top coat on rather than glossy because my heels are satin, but who can resist a super glossy black?  Not me!  I’m no real well versed in rhinestone and stud manis, so it’s not overly clever or anything, but still pretty.

4 Responses to “Black Rhinestones”

  1. Jenna Froggy July 18, 2012 at 6:34 am #

    Oh, these are fabulous!

  2. everysensory July 18, 2012 at 1:44 pm #

    awesome! I think you did a great job – and good to know the top coat on first trick, sometimes with the bigger stones top coat on top gives a whirlpool effect on me 😀

  3. Meredith July 19, 2012 at 3:26 am #

    This is beautiful!

  4. Annika Hanson July 19, 2012 at 5:12 am #

    Got a pic of those matching shoes 😉

Comments are closed.