Black and Green

4 Feb

I recently bought a shirt that is fat stripes of army green and black. I love it. One day while wearing it, I decided to use it as my inspiration.Stripes_roses_green_black (2) WLcopyMy shirt doesn’t have any roses on it, but I didn’t want to do all stripes on my nails and man, am I glad I decided against that. I don’t know if it was my tape or something to do with the China Glaze Liquid Leather I was using, but each time I tried to peel the tape off after polishing, the tape would break. It was strange. It just snapped on in little pieces like it had been scored or something. Fortunately my green polish, OPI Uh-Oh Roll Down the Window was pretty dry so shoving a pin under the tape to peel off the left over parts didn’t ruin the base color. It did however ruin the black stripes. Rather than bagging the whole mani and taking it off, I went in with a striping brush and fixed the damage as best I could. Stripes_roses_green_black (7) WLcopyOverall, I’m pleased with this mani. I didn’t use new or different tape than I’ve been using, so I can only figure that that tape and Liquid Leather don’t play well together. Has anyone else had issues like this? It’s like the polish weakened the tape or something. Bizarre.

6 Responses to “Black and Green”

  1. Stacy February 4, 2013 at 6:26 am #

    I have had that happen, I can’t remember what polish it was though. I remember I was using the “invisible” scotch tape (kind of frosty looking) and it kept busting apart so I switched to the clear, shiny scotch tape and that seemed to solve the problem. I had used the frosty tape before without issue though so it must be a certain ingredient in some polishes that causes that to happen.
    p.s. LOVE the mani though!! 🙂

    • TopCoatIt February 4, 2013 at 8:11 am #

      Glad to know I’m not the only one. I agree that it must be an issue with certain formulations.

  2. Emily Lacquerologist February 4, 2013 at 6:33 am #

    This is super pretty!! The color combination is great!

  3. craftynail February 4, 2013 at 6:44 am #

    The green and black combo looks awesome! I love this mani!

  4. Marisa February 4, 2013 at 7:13 am #

    Love this!

  5. Elizabeth February 5, 2013 at 12:51 am #

    Rachel, I LOVE this! The colours are so great, and awesome call on breaking up the stripes with the roses–they look beautiful together!

    When we did the TT colour blocking assignment, I had a little trouble with the edge of one of the pieces peeling off all awkward and diagonally, leaving a little triangle-shaped wedge stuck to the nail that I just could not remove. I think that was using Revlon Red Carpet. Haven’t done a lot of other tape manis, though. So many “To Do”s!

Comments are closed.

