Paper Snowflakes

14 Jan

I know I’ve mentioned it before, but I can cut a pretty mean paper snowflake.  I learned how when I was nine or ten, so I’ve had years of practice.  I was looking at the ones I’d cut to hang in my front window one day and thought I’d try to duplicate them on my nails.Snowflakes (2) WLcopyI pulled three of my favorites off the window and hung them in front of me while I was working.  I only did three because I wasn’t ambitious enough to try five different designs. 🙂  So my pinkie and thumb just got a little doilie-ish design.

Snowflakes (5) WLcopyI used CND Asphalt as my base color and white acrylics for the snowflakes.  These were super intricate designs and I flubbed them up a couple times.  I was glad I was using acrylics so I could wipe it away and start over without ruining the polish underneath.  I think my index finger if my favorite translated on my nail.

DSC08100 WLcopy

Here are the actual snowflakes in the same order they are on my nails.  Which is your favorite?

12 Responses to “Paper Snowflakes”

  1. MariJo January 14, 2013 at 6:42 am #

    Wow!!! Your snowflake cutting skills are awesome!! You did a great job replicating them on your nails also. It’s hard to choose, but my favorite snowflake is the one on the right. I love the circular designs and the star in the middle.

    • TopCoatIt January 14, 2013 at 6:14 pm #

      Thanks Mari! The circles are why I like that one too!

  2. eklinman January 14, 2013 at 8:22 am #

    Those look really awesome!

  3. artreviewed January 14, 2013 at 9:56 am #

    I can’t choose a favourite!!!! They are all gorgeous as are your nails! 😀 xx

    • TopCoatIt January 14, 2013 at 6:14 pm #

      Thank you!

  4. beachgal January 14, 2013 at 1:04 pm #

    LOVE this…I think the ring finger is my fav and then I look at them again and think the middle finger – I just love ’em all. I tossed out my paper snowflakes a few yrs ago in a de-cluttering thing I went through..I still love them however – they are so clean and fresh looking – great to see snowflakes done differently then some straight line and stamped ones.

    • TopCoatIt January 14, 2013 at 6:16 pm #

      Thank you beachgal!

  5. bubblegumandpink January 14, 2013 at 6:12 pm #

    I like them all! The middle is probably my favourite though. Nice post 🙂

    • TopCoatIt January 14, 2013 at 6:16 pm #

      Thanks bubblegumandpink! I love the straight lines of the middle one.

  6. Good Lack, Nail! January 15, 2013 at 8:16 am #

    Oh wow, you can cut snowflakes from paper like that? Love the reproduction on your nails too. I’m jealous of your skills 🙂

  7. NailsLikeLace January 15, 2013 at 9:36 am #

    These are beautiful! I love the base you put them on!

Comments are closed.

