OPI Spotted

11 Jan

I’ve been wanting OPI Spotted since it came out. Reading different posts about how it was difficult to apply and sometimes gave disappointing results made me feel a little better about not being able to get my hands on it since it’s not available here in the United States.Watermarble_spotted (11) WLcopyCutePolish’s recent water marble video eliminated OPI Spotted from my wish list.  I would love to know how she figured this out.  It’s genius I tell you.  If you haven’t figured it out, this is not OPI Spotted (the fact that it’s grey may have clued some of you in).

Watermarble_spotted (12) WLcopyI love this look. It looks like the top layer of your polish got eaten away by acid and this is what’s left. Such a cool look that really would be difficult to achieve any other way.

Watermarble_spotted (16) WLcopyFor this look I used Sinful Colors Timbleberry, Zoya Robyn and Arizona and Color Club Edie for my base colors. I just randomly painted them on in blocks (as is demonstrated in CutePolish’s video tutorial). I used CND Ashphalt for the top marbling color on most of my nails and just out of curiosity, I used China Glaze Liquid Leather for my pinkie. I can’t decide if I like the grey or black better. I think I like them equally and for different reasons.

What do you think of this technique? Do you like this look?

24 Responses to “OPI Spotted”

  1. Laurie January 11, 2013 at 6:16 am #

    I really like the grey!! I’m lucky enough to own a bottle of Spotted but I’m still going to try Cutepolishes tutorial because I think it would be awesome to have different colors.

    • TopCoatIt January 11, 2013 at 10:19 pm #

      I know, I love the color possibilities!

  2. MariJo January 11, 2013 at 6:28 am #

    I saw the video and want to try it. I think it’s such a great look!! I prefer the gray. You did an awesome job!

    • TopCoatIt January 11, 2013 at 10:20 pm #

      Thanks Mari!

  3. Emily Lacquerologist January 11, 2013 at 6:48 am #

    The gray looks great! I have been playing around with this look as well….I think it’s really fun! Great job!

    • TopCoatIt January 11, 2013 at 10:21 pm #

      Thank you Emily!

  4. Cordia January 11, 2013 at 7:16 am #

    Holy crap. That is awesome. I’m totally going to try this!

    • TopCoatIt January 11, 2013 at 10:22 pm #

      That’s exactly what I thought when I saw the tutorial.

  5. hannah January 11, 2013 at 7:49 am #

    I am seriously obsessed with this. I need to go buy some spray hand sanitizer and try this IMMEDIATELY!!!

    • TopCoatIt January 11, 2013 at 10:24 pm #

      Get on it! It’s a fun one to wear.

  6. Cher January 11, 2013 at 9:32 am #

    I love love this technique but I can not find the spray sanitizer anywhere. I think I’m gonna try using regular sanitizer with a little water and put in some spray bottle. I adore the color combo you chose. Awesomeness!

    • TopCoatIt January 11, 2013 at 10:27 pm #

      Darn. I happened to have some already. I wonder if just some diluted rubbing alcohol in a spray bottle would work? I imagine it’s the alcohol that makes the effect.

  7. Jamie @ Polish, Please! January 11, 2013 at 10:18 am #

    This is awesome! I died when I saw cutepolish’s tutorial! Your nails look FAB with this technique!

    • TopCoatIt January 11, 2013 at 10:28 pm #

      Thanks Jamie!

  8. shortandsweetintexas January 11, 2013 at 12:44 pm #

    I think I like this look with Asphalt best. This does look pretty cool. I missed out on OPI Black Spotted too so I may have to give this technique a shot this weekend!

    • TopCoatIt January 11, 2013 at 10:29 pm #

      It’s nice to have options other than black. Clean up is easier too. 🙂

  9. daPerley January 11, 2013 at 1:32 pm #

    Need to try that out 😀

  10. gelicnailart January 12, 2013 at 3:23 pm #

    I must definitely try this out! Thanks for sharing this! I think I liked the black one most. 😀
    Now the problem is to find the sanitizer.. I searched to day but couldn’t find any like the one she used in Sweden where I live, but I haven’t given up.

    • TopCoatIt January 13, 2013 at 2:23 pm #

      I might try it with diluted rubbing alcohol to see if that works. That’s probably easier for everyone to get their hands on.

  11. Rachael January 13, 2013 at 11:54 am #

    Great! I saw the cute polish video a couple of days ago. I love how this can be done with any color. I’m not sure I can find spray hand sanitizer here but alcohol is worth a shot. I’m really excited to try the technique. Great mani!

    • TopCoatIt January 13, 2013 at 2:24 pm #

      If you try the alcohol, let me know if it works. It seems many of you hare having a hard time finding spray hand sanitizer.

  12. Michelle January 14, 2013 at 12:14 pm #

    I love this look! I went to a few drug stores in search of the spray hand sanitizer and found some at CVS. I can’t wait to recreate this look!

    • TopCoatIt January 14, 2013 at 6:15 pm #

      Score! I’m glad you found some!

  13. Elizabeth January 15, 2013 at 10:11 am #

    This is total genius! The colours you picked are so perfect with this technique (seriously, you have the most amazing eye for colour, Rachel!), and your results are flat-out amazing. 😀

Comments are closed.

