Twinsie Tuesday: Saran Wrap

8 Jan

I was excited for this week because I hadn’t tried a Saran wrap mani yet.  Just to make sure I understood what I was supposed to be doing I Googled it.  Evidently it’s acceptable to use the Saran wrap to add or remove polish from your nail.  I opted for the remove technique.

SaranWrap (3) WLcopyI really thought this color combination would have a little more pizazz.  It’s pretty, but it just kind of looks like a stone of some sort.  I do sometimes look at it and think it looks like one of those Hubble telescope images.

SaranWrap (11) WLcopyMy base color was Orly Decades of Dysfunction then I polished on Orly Space Cadet and pulled some of it back off with my little balls of Saran wrap.  This is definitely a technique that I would like to play around with more.  I’m not overly thrilled with these results, but am intrigued enough to keep trying.  I did achieve a pretty neutral effect though.

SaranWrap (14) WLcopyHave you tried the Saran wrap technique? What do you think?

Be sure the check out all the other manis today:

Amanda of Amandalandish
Anna of Going to the Showing
Anne of Grape Fizz Nails
Ashley of Art Evolve
Brandi of The Collegiate Nail
Chelsea of Nailed Blog
ChiChi of I’m Just Me…ChiChi
Cordia of Seriously Swatched
Elizabeth of Did My Nails
Jamie of Polish, Please!
Jenn of All That is Gorgeous
Katherine of Haul of Fame
Maribeth of Obsessive Cosmetic Hoarders Unite!
Marisa of Polish Obsession
Meredith of Polish and Charms
Nory of Fierce Make Up and Nails
Sarah of See Sarah Swatch
Tara of Polishy of Truth

15 Responses to “Twinsie Tuesday: Saran Wrap”

  1. The Collegiate Nail January 8, 2013 at 7:21 am #

    Wow what a combination! Your nails look like (expensive) granite!

  2. Maribeth January 8, 2013 at 7:25 am #

    Super pretty and I think it would make the perfect base for a “Galaxy Nails” type manicure. Great job!

  3. MariJo January 8, 2013 at 8:11 am #

    I think it looks awesome!!! Even though it’s not what you were going for. I haven’t tried saran wrap to remove polish. I’ll have to do that sometime.

  4. Jamie @ Polish, Please! January 8, 2013 at 8:15 am #

    I really love the way this turned out!! Well done! 🙂

  5. ewlyn January 8, 2013 at 8:35 am #

    I have tried this technique once and fell in love with it. It is so easy to do and the effects are amazing. I like your colors combo, it does look a bit like a moss agate 🙂

  6. Elizabeth January 8, 2013 at 9:56 am #

    Such a beautiful combination, Rachel! It looks a bit like a mossy stone, all pretty and textured, and I love the shimmer from Space Cadet.

  7. Cordia January 8, 2013 at 10:04 am #

    I think this looks awesome! I love the nude look to it!

  8. Nory January 8, 2013 at 10:22 am #

    Yours looks very cool!

  9. Ashesela January 8, 2013 at 12:34 pm #

    WOW!!! This is one of my favourite saran wrap manicures ever!!! O_O Seriously beautiful (and it really does look like a stone!)

  10. Meredith Wells January 8, 2013 at 1:56 pm #

    Gorgeous!

  11. Anna @ GoingtotheShowing January 8, 2013 at 2:47 pm #

    This is so pretty!

  12. Anne Thompson January 8, 2013 at 7:03 pm #

    As always, I love this. You did a great job

  13. Katherine January 8, 2013 at 8:55 pm #

    Super pretty! It does remind me of stone 🙂

  14. chichibee January 8, 2013 at 9:49 pm #

    this makes me think of pretty counter tops. great choice of colors!

  15. Jacky January 9, 2013 at 12:44 am #

    Are you kidding? That’s beautiful! I think you did an amazing job and I love the color combination. 🙂

Comments are closed.

