Explosion Fail

29 Nov

I think we’re all familiar with Jane from Nailside. I envy her skills. She’s one of my favorites. I did not do her explosion mani justice.This was my second attempt at this design.  I’m seriously struggling with it.  I don’t know why.  Her tutorial makes it seem so simple.  I’m determined to get it right.  I’m struggling with the tape placement.

In an effort to save time, I did it over an existing mani  The subtle polka dots paired with the black and silver “explosion” looks very comic bookish to me.  Like they should have “Bam!” and “Pow!” captions.  I used Sally Hansen Black Out and OPI DS Radiance for this look.

I will for sure keep trying at this one.  I love the explosion when Jane does it.  I will conquer it.  Mark my words. 😉

6 Responses to “Explosion Fail”

  1. Stacy November 29, 2012 at 6:43 am #

    I’m glad I’m not the only one that had trouble with this. I could NOT figure out the angles of the tape piece to make a good explosion. I finally gave up and just made a zigzag 😦

  2. feeraa November 29, 2012 at 8:56 am #

    I think you’re hard on yourself, this looks awesome!

  3. gelicnailart November 29, 2012 at 11:23 am #

    She is a true talent. I’ve also tried some of her tape tutorials and I can’t get it right. Hers is so crisp and alls nails are the same and perfect. I think it will take a lot of practice for me until I get it right. But I do think that your’s are cool, loved the color combination of it. 🙂

  4. Diana Barlip November 29, 2012 at 12:57 pm #

    you have done better than me! glad im not the only one who thinks her designs and tutorials make it look so easy!

  5. Amanda (Mae) November 29, 2012 at 6:02 pm #

    I love it, what are you talking about!!

  6. Erin Elizabeth December 1, 2012 at 5:39 pm #

    I gotta say I think this turned out good! I have tried a couple of her designs and I gotta say, I NEVER walk away thinking I did NEAR as good of a job as she did.

Comments are closed.

