Twinsie Tuesday: Oldest Polish

27 Nov

Happy Tuesday!  Today we’re showing our oldest polish.  I wasn’t really sure which of my polishes was older, but being that I have a few OPIs that don’t have the wide brushes, I figured that makes them pretty old.  I know I bought them when I was in my teens.  They’re in surprisingly good condition.  You’d think they would be all dried up and gloppy, but not so.

These polishes are such delicate colors, it made them difficult to photograph.  I started with OPI Shanghai Shimmer.  Talk about mannequin hands.  If this polish didn’t have a shimmer to it, you wouldn’t have been able to see it at all.  I was terribly unimpressed.

So I added some polka dots in OPI Hawaiian Orchid, a super, super pale pink shimmer.  It makes for a very subtle combination.  Evidently I didn’t always like bright and colorful polishes.  I have a couple bold ones that are pretty old, but I only ever used them on my toes back in the day.  I used to buy French tip kits pretty regularly, but always struggled to get them to look good.  Oh how times change.

Be sure the check out all the other manis today:

Amanda of Amandalandish
Anna of Going to the Showing
Anne of Grape Fizz Nails
Ashley of Art Evolve
Brandi of The Collegiate Nail
Chelsea of Nailed Blog
ChiChi of I’m Just Me…ChiChi
Cordia of Seriously Swatched
Elizabeth of Did My Nails
Jenn of All That is Gorgeous
Jenna of I’m Still Thinking
Katherine of Haul of Fame
Maribeth of Obsessive Cosmetic Hoarders Unite!
Marisa of Polish Obsession
Meredith of Polish and Charms
Nory of Fierce Make Up and Nails
Sarah of See Sarah Swatch
Tara of Polishy of Truth

13 Responses to “Twinsie Tuesday: Oldest Polish”

  1. MariJo November 27, 2012 at 6:15 am #

    I love this subtle look!!! Hawaiian Orchid is a really pretty pink.

  2. Amanda November 27, 2012 at 6:51 am #

    While I’m not familiar with this polish, I do remember the super sheer shimmers and frosties from the nineties. But you definitely managed to make this look modern and now 🙂

    • TopCoatIt November 27, 2012 at 8:10 am #

      Thanks Amanda. I do remember being frustrated by how sheer these polishes were back then. It took like 5 coats to get decent coverage which always resulted in bubbles. Annoying.

  3. Iroshi Windwalker November 27, 2012 at 7:51 am #

    I have to admit that normally I’m a huuuuge fan of almost any dotticure. But the subtle difference between the two colors, combined with the dots being almost skin-tone, makes it look like you’ve got…I dunno, some sort of welts on your nails. 😦 It looks more like you have blisters on your nails than nail art. But then, I’ve seen nail artists go for that look sometimes! ^_^

    • TopCoatIt November 27, 2012 at 8:24 am #

      Ha ha ha ha ha!!! That’s awesome! It’s not my favorite either. Oh man, that gave me a good laugh. 🙂

  4. Maribeth November 27, 2012 at 8:03 am #

    I’m obsessed with nudes, so this is right up my alley! Very pretty and delicate!

  5. Elizabeth November 27, 2012 at 8:48 am #

    Wow, these really are subtle–your tastes have most definitely changed! 😛

  6. Nory November 27, 2012 at 12:18 pm #

    Such a gorgeous mani!

  7. Ashesela November 27, 2012 at 1:20 pm #

    I am seriously loving this edition of TT!!

  8. Meredith Wells November 27, 2012 at 1:28 pm #

    Looks gorgeous!

  9. GoingtotheShowing November 27, 2012 at 9:18 pm #

    Gulps. It sort of does look like blisters now that she says that^^ However, Shanghai Shimmer looks amzing!

    • TopCoatIt November 27, 2012 at 9:47 pm #

      It does doesn’t it! 🙂

  10. chichibee November 28, 2012 at 11:04 pm #

    I like how subtle Shangai Shimmer is, it’d be great for a palette cleanser.

Comments are closed.

