Movember Moustache Monday

19 Nov

I was racking my brain trying to think of a clever way to do a moustache mani for today.  I didn’t want to do the same old thing.  I’m not sure why Mr. Potato Head popped in to my head, but I’m glad it did.

This little guy is pretty darn cute and that’s quite the moustache he sports.  This design was a challenge because I did it with my left hand.  I’m getting better with my non-dominant hand, but I still have to keep it pretty simple.

I used all Julep polishes for this mani.  I didn’t intentionally set out to use all Julep, it just sort of happened that way.  My base color is Julep Vera with polka dots in Julep Allyson.  Mr. Potato Head’s face is made up of Julep Brigitte (white), Molly (red) and Brandt (black).

I topped this off with a new top coat I bought on a whim at Peerless Beauty Supply called Chill Zone.  The bottle has little information on it and when I Google it I get almost nothing.  Has anyone else heard the Chill Zone top coat?  I need to use it a couple more times to form much of an opinion, but so far so good.  I had a teeny tiny bit of smearage on the highlight on the nose, but that’s it.  I’ll keep you posted as to my thoughts on this one.

Let Mr. Potato Head’s moustache remind you to encourage the men you love to take care of themselves and get their physicals and do their self checks.  Don’t forget to check out the links for other Movember inspired manis.  Click here to to check out my other moustache designs.



get the InLinkz code

16 Responses to “Movember Moustache Monday”

  1. workplaypolish November 19, 2012 at 6:29 am #

    This is amazing. I knew it was Mr. Potato Head even before I opened the post! So cute and clever.

    • TopCoatIt November 19, 2012 at 8:16 am #

      Oh good! Thank you!

  2. Erin Elizabeth November 19, 2012 at 10:08 am #

    You come up with the cutest stuff – it immediately made me think of dear old Mr. Potato Head.

    • TopCoatIt November 19, 2012 at 10:52 am #

      Thank you Erin!

  3. rins November 19, 2012 at 10:09 am #

    Cute! And that base color is gorgeous. 🙂

    • TopCoatIt November 19, 2012 at 10:54 am #

      Thanks Rins!

  4. ackeene November 19, 2012 at 5:36 pm #

    AWESOME! I love it! Great take on Movember that just tickled my fancy. Perfectly executed, as well (and as usual). Delightful, that’s the word!

    • TopCoatIt November 19, 2012 at 7:21 pm #

      Thank you so much!

  5. tmvikholt November 19, 2012 at 9:18 pm #

    Haha, those nails made me chuckle. So cute.

    • TopCoatIt November 19, 2012 at 9:50 pm #

      Thanks! 🙂

  6. Elizabeth November 20, 2012 at 9:43 am #

    Utterly and completely adorable. I love this! ♥

    • TopCoatIt November 20, 2012 at 12:03 pm #

      Thanks!

  7. Cordia Kell November 20, 2012 at 3:02 pm #

    OMG! I can’t even express how awesome these are!!

    • TopCoatIt November 20, 2012 at 7:52 pm #

      Thanks Cordia!

  8. Missy November 20, 2012 at 10:41 pm #

    That is brilliant! Mr. Potato Head is such a huge memory of my childhood–we have pictures of me wearing those tiny glasses and mustache! Thank you so much for this amazing contribution. I LOVE it and am so touched that you took the time to do this and put so much work into it. It means a lot to me!

    • TopCoatIt November 21, 2012 at 7:32 am #

      Awe… Thanks Missy!

Comments are closed.

