Indian Corn

7 Nov

I wanted to do something fall-ish today so I just started gathering fall colored polishes and Indian corn was born.  Flint corn is the more politically correct term, but it’s also known as calico corn (in case you wanted to know.)

I did a pretty good job, no?  I really love how these turned out.  The red and black variety in the picture reminds me of a snake for some reason although the more I look at it the more I see pomegranate seeds.  Mmm… yum.  Pomegranates are another great thing about fall.

Julep Stella is pretty much the exact same color as corn.  I chose to get Stella because I didn’t have a yellow that color.  Good thing I did or I never would have thought to do this amazing mani. 😉

As I said, Julep Stella was my base color.  The orange is Sinful Colors Courtney Orange, the light shimmery brown is Cult Nails Power Thief and the dark brown is Essie Chocolate Cakes (which has a strong red undertone.)

I just used the bottle brushes for this design and randomly blobbed the spots on in rows.  You know how much I love not needing any tools!  What do you think of my Indian/flint/calico corn?  Does it say fall to you?  Have you ever eaten Indian corn?  I really didn’t know it was edible until I read it on Wikipedia.

7 Responses to “Indian Corn”

  1. MariJo November 7, 2012 at 6:41 am #

    I love this!!

  2. Emily Lacquerologist November 7, 2012 at 6:51 am #

    I LOVE THIS!!! so creative!

  3. Rebecca @ Polish Etc November 7, 2012 at 3:38 pm #

    It looks just like corn! I love it! Such a creative idea. 🙂

  4. Missy November 8, 2012 at 5:36 pm #

    This is SO cute! You are so creative! I’m pinning this so that I can remember to try it later on this month.

    • TopCoatIt November 8, 2012 at 7:54 pm #

      Thanks Missy! I might do this for Thanksgiving day.

  5. Jenna Froggy November 11, 2012 at 10:44 am #

    Such a gorgeous creative idea!

  6. Wendy November 12, 2012 at 12:04 pm #

    Beautiful!

Comments are closed.

