Happy Blogiversary and How to Paint Your Nails

24 Oct

Today is my one year blogiversary!  I can’t believe it’s already been a year!  Whoa.  In the month of October 2011 I only had 11 page views.  A bleak start, but I had high hopes.  370 posts, 2144 comments and over a quarter of a million page views later, I don’t feel quite so much like a newby anymore and am happy to say that I’m still enjoying myself.

In honor of the celebration, I’m sharing these fabulous looking festive candles that I did for my birthday.  You can find the original post here.

I’ve had a few ladies ask me recently how I polish my nails.  If this is an area you feel like you could use a little practice and how-to in,  make sure you pin or bookmark this illustration by Lacquerized for future reference.  It’s the best one I’ve seen.

Click photo to link to Lacquerized’s post.

Click photo to link to Lacquerized’s post.

The only thing I would add is to make sure you wrap your tips.  Otherwise, this is exactly how I do it.  Then I though, what the hay, I’ll make a how-to video.  These are totally on the fly.  I’m no professional videographer, but they’ll do.

First we have a video of the technique I use to polish my nails. You’ll find it’s much like the illustrations above.

Next is how I clean up as I go with an orange stick.

I hope you found some tid bit of information that was useful to you! Don’t hesitate to ask if you have any questions!

6 Responses to “Happy Blogiversary and How to Paint Your Nails”

  1. ilikedginger (@ilikedginger) October 24, 2012 at 8:47 am #

    Bookmarking. Totally going to show this to people when they ask me how to paint nails without getting it all over their cuticles.

    • TopCoatIt October 24, 2012 at 9:02 am #

      Happy you found it helpful!

  2. ackeene October 24, 2012 at 5:22 pm #

    Happy Anni-blog-versary to one of, if not THE, most talented & creative nail artists in the blogosphere! Many happy returns of the day (and the manis).

    • TopCoatIt October 24, 2012 at 5:33 pm #

      Wow! Such kind words! Thank you!

  3. Cordia Kell October 26, 2012 at 7:44 pm #

    Congrats!! Great videos too. 🙂

    • TopCoatIt October 26, 2012 at 8:27 pm #

      Why thank you, on both counts!

Comments are closed.

