Breast Cancer Awareness Fishtail Braid

10 Oct

While I have more Halloween themed manis to show you, I thought I’d take a pause from the ghosts and goblins in honor of Breast Cancer Awareness month.

I pulled out a bunch of my pink polishes and went to work. I got about a third of the way through this and just about bagged it. I didn’t think the colors were coming together very well. Soft pinks always require multiple coats to be opaque, so the fact that some of my stripes are somewhat see through bothered me. I would have taken it right off if the polish on my other hand hadn’t been wet. I’m glad I waited because after thinking about it for a few minutes, I decided to see it through to the end and I’m happy with the results.

My darkest pink is Sally Hansen Hypnotic Pink, which I’ve had since I was in my early teens I believe. That’s a long time. The lightest is Sinful Colors Easy Going and the two middle of the roads are OPI Pink Friday and Milani Pink Hottie.

Do you plan to do any BCA designs? Do you do your monthly self checks? I’m more of a semi-annual self checker myself. I need to be better about it.

17 Responses to “Breast Cancer Awareness Fishtail Braid”

  1. MariJo October 10, 2012 at 7:11 am #

    This is really pretty!! I’ve been doing pink posts, but no nail art. I need to do better with self checks myself. I have no routine of any kind.

    • TopCoatIt October 10, 2012 at 10:37 am #

      Thanks!

  2. Nailmattic October 10, 2012 at 7:14 am #

    Very pretty I love BCA month

  3. Erica October 10, 2012 at 10:08 am #

    I really love this! I think it looks great, gives it a really soft look with the light pink colours πŸ™‚

    • TopCoatIt October 10, 2012 at 10:38 am #

      Thank you!

  4. Yatia October 10, 2012 at 8:31 pm #

    Love it!!! Glad you finished it

    • TopCoatIt October 10, 2012 at 8:50 pm #

      Me too! Thanks!

  5. Good Lack, Nail! October 11, 2012 at 12:54 am #

    I love it, and I don’t think that the braid manicure works only with opaque colors. It’s fun to see what happens when you layer less opaque colors – and I think your design is proof that it works!

    • TopCoatIt October 11, 2012 at 10:09 am #

      Thank you! I think it worked too. πŸ™‚

  6. kiyominails October 11, 2012 at 1:21 am #

    It looks amazing. My husband does my monthly checks ^.^ (tihi)

    • TopCoatIt October 11, 2012 at 10:09 am #

      Ooh la la! That’s a sure fire way to make sure it gets done!

      • kiyominails October 11, 2012 at 1:52 pm #

        Haha, yeah indeed. πŸ˜‰

  7. shruti October 12, 2012 at 1:28 pm #

    Wow.. it looks amazing. Very pretty indeed. πŸ™‚

  8. chichibee October 13, 2012 at 1:03 pm #

    This is really pretty! I don’t check enough, that’s for sure.

  9. DD December 13, 2012 at 2:55 am #

    i’m curious – you must have a mislabeled polish! sinful colors ‘happy ending’ is actually a shimmery green. however i’m actually dying to know the name of the other polish you used here. the combination of colors is just lovely!

    • TopCoatIt December 13, 2012 at 8:33 am #

      Whoa, thanks for catching that! No mis-labels, I just screwed it up. That pale pink is Sinful Colors Easy Going. I’ve corrected the post. Thanks again!

  10. Thomas January 14, 2013 at 1:24 pm #

    Thank you for adding to the growing support of cancer awareness. I wrote a song you may like or hopefully find useful called Not A Scarlet Letter you can find it on you tube at http://youtu.be/GcSJJoUHL_0

Comments are closed.

