Fall Scales

4 Oct

This is supposed to look like scales; like a mermaid tail.  Because of the fall colors I’ve chosen, all I an see are turkey feathers.

I’m super duper happy with this look and even happier that it was so easy!  All bottle brushes folks.  No nail art tools required.  I left a little naked nail showing near the cuticle.  I little peep show if you will. 😉

Many colors when in to this design.  I had three brown shades: Jordana Chiffon (the lightest), Sinful Colors Nirvana (medium brown) and Essie Chocolate Cakes (dark, reddish brown).  The orangey looking color is actually China Glaze Peachy Keen, but in the photographs it translates more as a golden yellow.  The green is Popova of the new Trina Turk line from Julep.  The blue Color Club Gossip Column.  Topped it off with the tried and true Jordana Quick Shine top coat.  The possibilities are endless with this design.  You can do as many different manis as you can think up color combinations.  I’ve already got a couple more in mind.  Love it!

6 Responses to “Fall Scales”

  1. Erica October 4, 2012 at 8:36 am #

    Love this! Reminds me of turkey too! Can’t wait for Thanksgiving this weekend (in Canada)!

    • TopCoatIt October 4, 2012 at 10:23 am #

      Well Happy Thanksgiving to you!

  2. emlocke October 4, 2012 at 9:57 am #

    I never thought I’d see such a pretty turkey manicure! Though, truthfully, the combination of earthy colors with that brighter green and the large “scales” make me think of a dragon.

    • TopCoatIt October 4, 2012 at 10:47 am #

      Ha ha… “such a pretty turkey manicure!” That made me laugh. I can see dragon, especially if I’d added one or two metallics or foils in the mix.

  3. rins October 4, 2012 at 11:57 am #

    Simple. Creative. Absolutely adorable!

    You’re right, the color possibilities for this nail design is limitless!

    • TopCoatIt October 4, 2012 at 12:30 pm #

      Thanks Rins!

Comments are closed.

