Trees

19 Sep

Sooo frustrated!  This design took for·e·ver and my top coat smeared the holy turd out of it!  GAH!

I would have normally chosen to use white acrylic for a design like this to ensure full opacity without using layer upon layer to achieve it.  I did this mani as an entry for the nail art contest that Sarah over at Chalkboard Nails is hosting.  Her rules state no acrylic paints, sooo… smudging.  I’d really been liking my HK Girl top coat.  However, she is not my friend today.

I love the design regardless of the hardships in execution.  It was inspired by another Ikea textile.  Love me some Ikea.  All my leaves were done with a dotting tool and I used a striping brush for my trunks.  My white is Sinful Colors Snow Me White.  The brown on my pinkie is Sinful Colors Nirvana.  The blue on my ring finger and thumb is Revlon Chic.  On my middle finger is OPI Uh-Oh Roll Down the Window and my index finger is Zoya Petra.

I probably won’t be doing this design again any time soon just because it was fairly time consuming (and kind of lumpy), but I love it.

5 Responses to “Trees”

  1. Amanda (Mae) September 19, 2012 at 6:03 am #

    These are absolutely fabulous! love the idea and soo well executed as always!

  2. polishalcoholic September 19, 2012 at 7:05 am #

    I love them!
    And I’m familiar with the smudge problem that can ruin your whole mani. That’s so frustrating!

  3. Good Lack, Nail! September 20, 2012 at 6:21 am #

    boo for the topcoat, but nevertheless, your design is amazing. maybe I should go to Ikea more for inspiration 🙂

  4. Fingers September 21, 2012 at 10:59 am #

    Wow this is amazing! I love it!

  5. Ana November 7, 2012 at 9:43 am #

    Oooh, this is truly original!

Comments are closed.

