Split Gradient

14 Sep

Sometimes I just really have no idea what to say about a design.  This is one of those times.  I’m having a bit of writer’s block. 

I got the idea to do two different gradients on my nail at the same time.  Split the nail right up the middle.  I think it turned out pretty cool.  I started with China Glaze Liquid Leather.  Once that was dry, I taped off one half of my nail and sponged on OPI DS Magic and OPI Sea Ya Later Sailor for the blue.  For the orangeish-yellow I used Sinful Colors Cloud 9 and the unnamed LA Colors polish I got from the dollar store.

Halfway through this design it was time to get my daughter up from her nap, so I had to slap a top coat on it and hope I didn’t ruin it before I had a chance to finish and take pictures.  I did flub it up a bit, but I think I hid it pretty well.

For the second gradient I used OPI DS Radiance and OPI Calendar Girl with Sinful Colors Happy Ending and I think a little Revlon Zealous and OPI Sit Under the Apple Tree.  I had those two out, but now I can’t remember if I used them or not.  What do you think of my split gradient?

13 Responses to “Split Gradient”

  1. fingerspolishmania September 14, 2012 at 9:28 am #

    You really do some freakin cool as sh*t nail art. I am in awe everytime I see your blog!

    • TopCoatIt September 14, 2012 at 11:01 am #

      Wow… Thank you!!

  2. Cheryl Cheryl September 14, 2012 at 10:22 am #

    that’s quite a nice design!!!!!

  3. Babs La Goffe September 14, 2012 at 1:15 pm #

    Looks like the Microsoft window logo. Nice!!!!!!!

    • TopCoatIt September 14, 2012 at 10:49 pm #

      A follower on Tumblr said that too! Didn’t mean to do a Window’s mani.

  4. Missy September 14, 2012 at 2:07 pm #

    These are really cool! They are like less harsh checker boards. The colors are gorgeous and awesomely sparkly. I have to say, too, as a Harry Potter lover, this is also a really cool Hogwarts combo 🙂

    • TopCoatIt September 14, 2012 at 10:46 pm #

      Thanks! I’m not much in to Harry Potter, so the Hogwarts reference was unintentional. 🙂

  5. ackeene September 14, 2012 at 9:40 pm #

    That is freakin’ amazing! Love the colors and the way the black peeks through; the whole design has a burnished look. Excellent, as always!

    • TopCoatIt September 14, 2012 at 10:40 pm #

      Thank you! I love the black peeking through too!

  6. The Collegiate Nail September 15, 2012 at 9:35 am #

    You always have the coolest nail art ideas.. this is awesome!

    • TopCoatIt September 15, 2012 at 9:37 pm #

      Thanks Brandi!

  7. YATIA September 15, 2012 at 5:26 pm #

    I loooooooooooooooooooove this look…I wish I had the patience or at least the technique to try it

    • TopCoatIt September 15, 2012 at 9:36 pm #

      Thanks! Give it a try! It really wasn’t that bad!

Comments are closed.

