Border Nails Taken Too Far

12 Sep

I hate when you take a mani one step too far and ruin the whole thing.  Why did I add that hideous swirl?

I didn’t see this when I was doing it, but looking at the pictures now it looks like the silhouette of a cat’s tail against a big, full moon.  Uh, yeah, I meant to do that. 😉  Border nails are hard!  The ones I’ve done in the past were a different technique and were much easier, but also had a different look.  They’re not really the same thing.

This look took me a lot longer than I felt like it should have.  I might try this again some time in the future, but it definitely won’t be soon.  I love the colors together though.  The blue is Revlon Chic and the grey is Julep Brigitte.  What do you think of my unintended cat, sort of Halloween-ish mani?

9 Responses to “Border Nails Taken Too Far”

  1. Amanda (Mae) September 12, 2012 at 9:47 am #

    I think it’s fun, it looks kind of like the hill that Jack and Sally stood on in The Nightmare Before Christmas(which I love that movie!!). Before I even read your text, thats what I thought you were going for 😀

    • Stacy September 12, 2012 at 1:45 pm #

      Me too, I IMMEDIATELY thought of N.B.C.!! 🙂

    • TopCoatIt September 12, 2012 at 8:45 pm #

      Amanda and Stacy, I just watched that movie for the first time last year. I watched it to finally see what everyone was raving about. I don’t think I got it. It was alright, but I probably won’t ever watch it again. :/ I’m glad this design reminded you of your beloved movie though! 😀

  2. Jenna Froggy September 12, 2012 at 4:29 pm #

    Now everyone is gonna think I’m crazy, but the swirl/curl thingie makes me think of the greaser hairstyles where the guys would pull down one curl in the very front.

    • TopCoatIt September 12, 2012 at 8:47 pm #

      I already thought you were crazy Jenna! 😉 Ha ha! You know I’m kidding, right? I probably never would have seen a Superman curl in this if you hadn’t said anything, but I can totally see it now!

  3. Tara September 12, 2012 at 5:12 pm #

    Hahah you make me laugh 🙂 Well since you meant it to look like that, I think it rocks! Actually, I’d love to see you do it again with black, orange, and green (or something of the sorts)!

    • TopCoatIt September 12, 2012 at 8:48 pm #

      Okay Tara, just for you, I’ll try again. 😉

  4. coolnailart September 13, 2012 at 10:29 pm #

    I like it! Maybe if you wouldve gone in with the swirl and made it more of a spiral swirl it would’ve been a bit better?

  5. beffums September 14, 2012 at 7:18 am #

    i love these. i cant wait to try it!

Comments are closed.

