Twinsie Tuesday: Fugly Polish

4 Sep

It pains me a bit to say that any polish is “fugly” because someone out there likely thinks is fantastic.  The company that created it probably thinks so.  I don’t feel too bad about this one though, because it came from the dollar store.  “That mustard yellow LA Colors polish from the dollar store is my biggest lemming,” said no one ever!  See?  I can’t feel too sad about calling this fugly.

I couldn’t even find a name on the bottle.  The label on the bottom said BCC 570.  Maybe they are one of those companies that just numbers their polishes.  The pictures really don’t do it justice.  It’s really more of a honey yellow, rather than a golden yellow.  It has much more of an orange or brown tone to it than shown here.  If it were a creme, I would probably like it more, but still, only for nail art rather than an actual manicure.

The formula left something to be desired.  It applied alright, but with two coats you can see that there is still a lot of VNL and I found the formula to be a bit bubbly.  Not a fan.  It dried with an odd finish too.  Not shiny, but not matte either.  Just an awful I’ve been wearing this polish for a few days kind of sheen to it.  A top coat was absolutely required.  I topped it off with HK Girl in the hopes of making it look better.  Didn’t really work.  Glad I only paid a dollar for it.

Be sure the check out all the other manis today:

Amanda of Amandalandish
Anna of Going to the Showing
Anne of Grape Fizz Nails
Ashley of Art Evolve
Brandi of The Collegiate Nail
Chelsea of Nailed Blog
ChiChi of I’m Just Me…ChiChi
Cordia of Seriously Swatched
Elizabeth of Did My Nails
Jenn of All That is Gorgeous
Jenna of I’m Still Thinking
Katherine of Haul of Fame
Maribeth of Obsessive Cosmetic Hoarders Unite!
Marisa of Polish Obsession
Meredith of Polish and Charms
Nory of Fierce Make Up and Nails
Sarah of See Sarah Swatch
Tara of Polishy of Truth

20 Responses to “Twinsie Tuesday: Fugly Polish”

  1. Amanda September 4, 2012 at 7:26 am #

    “That mustard yellow LA Colors polish from the dollar store is my biggest lemming,” said no one ever!…LOL!

  2. Tara September 4, 2012 at 9:44 am #

    Definitely not something I would wear…

    “That mustard yellow LA Colors polish from the dollar store is my biggest lemming,” said no one ever! – bahahahahaha cracked me up!

  3. Nory September 4, 2012 at 10:46 am #

    Yeah this is not my first choice of polish lol!

  4. Maribeth September 4, 2012 at 10:46 am #

    Yeah, I find yellows in general to be difficult to love, but add “sheer” and “shimmer” to yellow and that is a sure recipe for fugly 😉

    • TopCoatIt September 4, 2012 at 8:21 pm #

      I know. I really think I would like it more if it were a creme.

  5. Jenna Froggy September 4, 2012 at 2:38 pm #

    Ugh, I am so with you on this, definitely fugly to the extreme. BTW you are so funny!

    • TopCoatIt September 4, 2012 at 8:22 pm #

      I’m glad I can make you all laugh while you look at this hideous polish. 🙂

  6. Meredith Wells September 4, 2012 at 2:47 pm #

    Not one I would wear!

  7. Anna @ GoingtotheShowing September 4, 2012 at 4:06 pm #

    Yeah, no.

    • AllThatIsGorgeous September 4, 2012 at 4:35 pm #

      Haha!! I would not be attracted to this color!

  8. Ashesela September 4, 2012 at 5:04 pm #

    I don’t think it is toooooo bad, but I could never wear it in a million years.

  9. The Collegiate Nail September 4, 2012 at 8:25 pm #

    Hahaha.. “said no one ever.” Yeah.. I can’t decide If I like it in a weird way or don’t like it. Maybe it would be cool paired with other colors?

    • TopCoatIt September 4, 2012 at 8:28 pm #

      Yeah, I don’t think it’s a stand alone kind of color.

  10. Cordia Kell September 4, 2012 at 9:03 pm #

    I like it! Send it to me! 🙂

  11. chichibee September 4, 2012 at 9:44 pm #

    “That mustard yellow LA Colors polish from the dollar store is my biggest lemming,” said no one ever! That had me cracking up. I wouldn’t get this only because I already have a yellow I’m happy with.

  12. Katherine September 4, 2012 at 10:08 pm #

    The color itself isn’t horrible, it’s the sheer but shimmery formula that completely does this polish no justice. Like you said, at least it was only $1 😉

  13. Chelsea September 4, 2012 at 11:51 pm #

    “Said no one ever” hahaha. I second Brandi’s idea that maybe this could look nice layered with something?

  14. MariJo September 6, 2012 at 6:09 am #

    I actually think it looks lovely on you, but I totally get your reasoning for not liking it. I could never pull yellow off, so I wouldn’t even try, lol.

  15. Elizabeth September 8, 2012 at 2:45 pm #

    I could totally see this working as a creme, but yeah, semi-sheer and frosted? That’s some some excellent fug. ^_^

Comments are closed.

