Twinsie Tuesday: Color Blocking

28 Aug

Hello Ladies!  Today we’re playing with color blocking.  I’m a big fan of color blocked manis.  I love the straight lines and geometric angles.  Today, I got my color palate from the t-shirt I was wearing that I got for $6 at JCPenny.  It wasn’t even on clearance.  I love JCP.

I did a neon mani just like this a couple months ago.  I loved it, so I duplicated the layout and just chose new colors; fall-ish colors.

I used Essie Alligator Purse, one of my new favorite colors, Jordana Chiffon and Sinful Colors Amethyst.  I used a new top coat today that I purchased from Etsy.  It’s called HK Girl Clear Top Coat.  The Glisten and Glow shop appears to be down right now.  I’m just getting an error page.  I don’t know if the shop is closed, or if Etsy is just having a problem.  I was introduced to this top coat by a reader.  So far, I like it.  I applied very smoothly, was fast drying and has great shine.  It really reminds me of Poshe.  I’m going to try to wear this mani for a couple of days to give the top coat a test drive.  I’ll try to remember to update you on my overall impression of HK Girl’s top coat.

Be sure the check out all the other manis today:

Amanda of Amandalandish
Anna of Going to the Showing
Anne of Grape Fizz Nails
Ashley of Art Evolve
Brandi of The Collegiate Nail
Chelsea of Nailed Blog
ChiChi of I’m Just Me…ChiChi
Cordia of Seriously Swatched
Elizabeth of Did My Nails
Jenn of All That is Gorgeous
Jenna of I’m Still Thinking
Katherine of Haul of Fame
Maribeth of Obsessive Cosmetic Hoarders Unite!
Marisa of Polish Obsession
Meredith of Polish and Charms
Nory of Fierce Make Up and Nails
Sarah of See Sarah Swatch
Tara of Polishy of Truth

33 Responses to “Twinsie Tuesday: Color Blocking”

  1. Amanda (Mae) August 28, 2012 at 6:40 am #

    very nice blocking and love the color choices 🙂

  2. Maribeth August 28, 2012 at 7:39 am #

    Beautiful job! Color blocking perfection!

  3. Lacquerice August 28, 2012 at 8:13 am #

    I dig it!!

  4. Amanda August 28, 2012 at 8:20 am #

    I love this color combo!

  5. Elizabeth August 28, 2012 at 8:52 am #

    Ooh, I love this one–beautifully crisp lines, and the colours are seriously dreamy! You always come up with the best colour combos. 😀

    • TopCoatIt August 28, 2012 at 7:50 pm #

      Thanks Elizabeth! I had someone comment on FB that it reminded them of the Pepsi logo. 🙂

  6. Tara August 28, 2012 at 9:00 am #

    LOVE HK girl! And I love this, it is perfection!

    • TopCoatIt August 28, 2012 at 7:51 pm #

      I used HK Girl for the second time today and I feel like I get a lot of bubbles. Have you found that? Maybe it’s just user error.

  7. SeeSarah Swatch August 28, 2012 at 9:04 am #

    perfect, as usual. loving those colors together!

  8. Nory August 28, 2012 at 11:00 am #

    Wow this is amazing

  9. Jenna Froggy August 28, 2012 at 12:19 pm #

    This is so perfect!

  10. Cordia Kell August 28, 2012 at 12:39 pm #

    So very cute!!

  11. AllThatIsGorgeous August 28, 2012 at 12:43 pm #

    Perfect color blocking lines! I can never get it so crisp!

    • TopCoatIt August 28, 2012 at 7:46 pm #

      Thanks Jenn! I use clear tape and am meticulous about my application.

  12. chichibee August 28, 2012 at 4:04 pm #

    I love JCP too. These colors look excellent together!

  13. rookienails August 28, 2012 at 6:43 pm #

    Once again you’ve posted a great mani. I’ve noticed that few blogs actually have tasteful manis and yours is one of them. There are plenty of blogs with great ideas and talented writers but a lot of their stuff is just plain tacky, at least in my opinion. Then again I’ve never been huge on the studs, gems, 3D nail ad-ons, etc. It just looks tacky. Anyway, I’ve once again been inspired. I was actually about to do a tape mani and will start it after commenting!

    • TopCoatIt August 28, 2012 at 7:53 pm #

      I’m so flattered! Thank you so much for the compliments!

  14. Ashesela August 28, 2012 at 7:52 pm #

    Very lovely!! 😀

  15. Katherine @ Haul of Fame August 28, 2012 at 8:56 pm #

    I love the colors used. Your post also makes me want to go check out JCP 🙂

    • TopCoatIt August 28, 2012 at 9:25 pm #

      Ha ha, you should check them out! I go there all the time!

  16. The Collegiate Nail August 28, 2012 at 9:50 pm #

    This is absolutely beautiful! I love these colors together. Your lines are so clean!

    • TopCoatIt August 28, 2012 at 9:52 pm #

      Thanks Brandi!

  17. Chelsea August 28, 2012 at 11:04 pm #

    I absolutely love these colors! I would never have thought to pair them together but they look amazing on you!

    • TopCoatIt August 28, 2012 at 11:11 pm #

      Thanks Chelsea!

  18. MariJo August 29, 2012 at 6:47 am #

    Your nails look perfect, as always!! Love these colors!

    • TopCoatIt August 29, 2012 at 7:54 am #

      I’m glad they appear to be perfect. Thanks MariJo!

  19. Babs La Goffe August 29, 2012 at 10:08 am #

    Tutorial for blocking like this?

    • TopCoatIt August 29, 2012 at 12:34 pm #

      Possibly… I’ll think about it.

  20. gelicnailart August 29, 2012 at 10:49 am #

    Almost thought that it looked country like from some flag with red, white and blue. (But like if it’s “old”, so the white isn’t white)

    • TopCoatIt August 29, 2012 at 12:40 pm #

      I thought the same thing! It looks like red, white and blue that have been antiqued or something.

  21. Anna @ GoingtotheShowing August 30, 2012 at 12:16 am #

    Pure perfection.

  22. Bridget September 3, 2012 at 10:53 pm #

    I love it! What is a super quick and easy way to do it? I have a TON of nail polish and love to do my nails fun!

  23. glistenandglow September 6, 2012 at 10:07 pm #

    Etsy shop is closed 😦 we’ve moved to http://glistenandglow.bigcartel.com/

Comments are closed.

