Faux Shine

25 Aug

What would you do if you ran out of your super shiny top coat or just didn’t think it was shiny enough?  Paint on your own shine.

It was kind of a crazy idea, but fun to try.  I polished my nails with Julep Viola, a deep raisin colored creme.  I only applied two coats, but should have used three.  You can see some streaky spots on my ring finger.  Then with a small detail brush and a white polish (don’t remember which one I used) I added on a highlight to each nail.  Even though it seemed redundant and unnecessary, I used a glossy top coat.  It looks nice, but the faux highlight and the actual highlights from the lights battle each other a bit.

So I added a matte top coat.  Much better!  First I used the Sephora matte top coat and it hardly did anything.  Disappointing.  I switched to NYC Matte Me Crazy which worked much better.  I think this design is really fun.  It almost looks cartoonish.

What do you think of my matte, shiny nails?

11 Responses to “Faux Shine”

  1. Beautiful Kayekie August 25, 2012 at 6:12 am #

    Nice effect! 🙂

  2. AyeJae August 25, 2012 at 7:01 am #

    You come up with the coolest ideas! This is by far one of my favorites and I’ve been “stalking” you for almost a year now. I may try it if you dont mind, I’ll send you a photo of the recreation…Good Job!

    • TopCoatIt August 25, 2012 at 8:43 am #

      Thank you! Recreate away!

  3. polishalcoholic August 25, 2012 at 3:35 pm #

    Love it! Prefer the matte finish above the shiny. It gives it just a little bit ‘more’…

    • TopCoatIt August 25, 2012 at 3:47 pm #

      Definitely agree! Thanks!

  4. Gelic' nail art August 25, 2012 at 4:02 pm #

    You fouled me the first 2 seconds anyhow when I quickly looked at the picture.. I liked the shiny one better though. 🙂 Fake shine can be awsome!

    • TopCoatIt August 25, 2012 at 4:11 pm #

      Ha ha… That’s great. My plan worked. 🙂

  5. Cheryl Cheryl August 25, 2012 at 8:52 pm #

    So cool! ! I LOVE it! this might be BETTER than the shine on nail! You’re SOOOO good! 🙂

    • TopCoatIt August 25, 2012 at 9:45 pm #

      This shine won’t fade after a day or so either. 🙂 Thanks Cheryl!

  6. Sarah Van Horne September 21, 2012 at 3:00 am #

    This reminds me of an abstract take on an orca whale. I know, totally not what you were going for, but I would definitely wear this to Sea World next time I go!

    • TopCoatIt September 21, 2012 at 9:27 am #

      I can totally see that!

Comments are closed.

