Rainbow Hot Air Balloon Peacock

15 Aug

I think it’s a Subaru commercial where there’s a hot air balloon that was the inspiration for this manicure.  Every time I see that commercial I think, that would be a cool nail design.  Today I finally got around to doing it.

As soon as I was done, I was reminded of the NBC peacock logo.  Not quite the same, but still, it was the first thing my husband said when he looked at it.  For once we were thinking the same thing.

I was hesitant to use NYX Ink as my base color because it stains like mad!  But really, it’s the perfect color for this design.  I used a thick base coat first in the hopes that the staining would be minimal.  Keep your fingers crossed.

This mani required no tools; always a plus in my book.  After my base color was done, I used Sally Hansen Mellow Yellow and just made my first strip using the bottle brush.  Then I repeated the action with the rest of the colors:  Orly Terracotta, Orly Green Apple, OPI Do You Lilac It and Julep Parker.

I topped it off with Cult Nails Wicked Fast (I’m really liking this top coat lately!) and then finished it with Jordana Quick Shine top coat.  If anyone else has a better idea for a name for this design, I would love to hear it.  I really don’t know what to call it.

