Day of the Dead Roses

11 Aug

My sister said these reminded her of Day of the Dead roses.  I agree.  You want to know what hubby saw when I showed him?

He says the leaves tipped him off that it was supposed to be a flower of some sort, but that he originally thought it looked like a turtle’s shell and the leaves were feet sticking out or something.  What?!  That looks like a turtle to you?  Silly hubby.  As long as the ladies know what it supposed to be, that’s all that matters.  It made me feel better that my sister immediately knew they were roses.

This was my first attempt at these vintage style roses.  I polished my nails with Wet ‘n Wild I Need a Refresh-Mint, then grabbed my dotting tool and jumped right in.  I didn’t really know what I was doing, but I’m happy with the result.  The dark pink of the rose is Sally Hansen Berry Tantalizing Creme with highlights in China Glaze Peachy Keen.  My leaves are China Glaze Starboard and were done with a small detail brush.

I don’t know if my technique is quite what it should be for this design, but I think I did a pretty good job.  I love how abstract they are, yet (in my opinion) you can still totally see that they are roses.

What do you think of my Day of the Dead/vintage roses?

2 Responses to “Day of the Dead Roses”

  1. Elizabeth August 14, 2012 at 5:43 am #

    These. Are. GORGEOUS!

    Pfft, a turtle. Silly husbands are silly.

  2. Jenna Froggy August 14, 2012 at 1:31 pm #

    Men are so silly :O/

Comments are closed.

