Twinsie Tuesday: Best Deal

24 Jul

Happy Tuesday everyone!  Today is a state holiday where I live, so we’re celebrating with a family BBQ and fireworks.  I’m hoping we won’t get rained on like we did last year, but the forecast isn’t very promising.  Keep your fingers crossed for us!

Today’s theme is our best deal (excluding gifts, swaps and giveaway winnings).  I had a hard time coming up with a polish for this one.  I’m not one to go deal shopping for anything.  If I want it, I’m generally willing to pay the asking price.  I really had to rack my brain.  Then I remembered that several months back, I paid 1¢ for two polishes.  Julep was having one of their 1¢ introductory Maven Box deals.  How can you pass up a deal like that.  It really was 1¢.  No extra surprise charges.

I’ve already shown you both of the polishes I got in that box, so I had to do something fun with one of them.  Julep Selena is a fantastic sort of chartreuse/olive green creme.  I love it!

Here, I’ve paired it with Nicole by OPI Overwhelmed.  This is a raisin colored purple shimmer.  I’ve had this polish for eons!  Really.  I think I may have stolen it from my sister when we were teenagers.  Now, I’m not that old, but I will say that I’ve been out of high school for more than a decade.

Because Overwhelmed is so old, it was a bit thick and sticky and difficult to work with.  I didn’t bother adding any thinner to it, but probably should have.  You can see it bubbled a bit.  A gorgeous color, nonetheless.

I thought these two colors complimented each other really well, so I decided to do some color blocking.  My ring finger is my favorite.

Be sure the check out all the other manis today:

Amanda of Amandalandish
Anna of Going to the Showing
Anne of Grape Fizz Nails
Ashley of Art Evolve
Brandi of The Collegiate Nail
Chelsea of Nailed Blog
ChiChi of I’m Just Me…ChiChi
Cordia of Srsly Swatched
Jenn of All That is Gorgeous
Jenna of I’m Still Thinking
Katherine of Haul of Fame
Maribeth of Obsessive Cosmetic Hoarders Unite!
Marisa of Polish Obsession
Meredith of Polish and Charms
Nory of Fierce Make Up and Nails
Sarah of See Sarah Swatch
Tara of Polishy of Truth

13 Responses to “Twinsie Tuesday: Best Deal”

  1. Amanda July 24, 2012 at 6:52 am #

    One cent…not too shabby!

  2. Jenna Froggy July 24, 2012 at 7:59 am #

    For a penny…totally worth it!

  3. Amber July 24, 2012 at 8:10 am #

    This looks perfect…your lines are so crisp! I just moved from Idaho where we celebrated Pioneer Day, but where I live now doesn’t sadly. Have fun!

  4. The Collegiate Nail July 24, 2012 at 8:51 am #

    This is very pretty!

  5. Maribeth July 24, 2012 at 8:52 am #

    Great color combo! I love it.

  6. Tara July 24, 2012 at 9:03 am #

    What a fun combo! You definitely made it look cool and interesting. I never got in on the 1 cent boxes, boo!

  7. Anne Thompson July 24, 2012 at 10:42 am #

    1 cent?!! I really should get on that Julep boat! Love the color blocking 🙂

  8. Nory July 24, 2012 at 10:44 am #

    Awesome

  9. AllThatIsGorgeous July 24, 2012 at 10:49 am #

    Love the combo! Julep’s Maven Intro Box is definitely a great deal!

  10. Meredith July 24, 2012 at 1:01 pm #

    That is a great deal!!!! Love what you did with them!

  11. Ashesela July 24, 2012 at 5:13 pm #

    What a gorgeous manicure!!! 😀

  12. missy/gnarlygnails July 24, 2012 at 9:56 pm #

    love it, it feels so disco.

  13. chichibee July 25, 2012 at 12:23 am #

    1 cent? that’s an awesome deal!

Comments are closed.

