Fading Polka Dots

23 Jul

Wet ‘n Wild I Need a Refresh-Mint is a color that I can’t get enough of lately.  I had an itch to pair it up with China Glaze Platinum Silver and this was the result.

China Glaze Plantinum Silver is a pain in the butt to apply.  It bubbles like mad!  The first time I applied it, I put in on too thick so, though irritated, the bubbles didn’t surprise me.  There were sooo many that I had to start over.  The second time around, I polished it on super thin and carefully.  Still bubbled.  So frustrating!

To add a little extra something to my ring finger and thumb as accents, I threw a little Orly Terracotta in the mix.  To get that sort of marbled look, I dipped my dotting tool in both Orly Terracotta and WNW I Need a Refresh-Mint before dotting it to my nail.  This bright, red-orange looks fantastic with the blue.

I wore this on all ten fingers for several days because I loved it so much.

5 Responses to “Fading Polka Dots”

  1. Meredith July 23, 2012 at 1:25 pm #

    This is beautiful!!!

  2. Hannah July 23, 2012 at 3:02 pm #

    Did you use some sort of stencil or stamping tool for the dots? Because it looks like you switched up the silver either being the dots or the outline.

    • TopCoatIt July 23, 2012 at 5:22 pm #

      I just used a dotting tool. On my ring finger and thumb, I painted my nail blue, sponged on silver then dotted on blue/orange. For the other three fingers I did the opposite. I painted my nail silver, sponged on blue, then dotted on silver.

  3. Emily August 8, 2012 at 3:52 pm #

    I keep coming back to this manicure and I can’t stop staring! Not only are the colors beautiful, but the design is so captivating. It really looks like a multilayered stamping effect. That you used only a dotting tool and some coordinated color reversal (and that clever marbling trick!) blows my mind. I’m looking at a fresh Dating a Royal manicure that I was planning to leave as-is, but I’m expecting new dotting tools in the mail (a step up from my homemade contraption: a straight pin and a flathead nail stuck into either end of a used cork!) and I might not be able to resist experimenting with this.

    • TopCoatIt August 8, 2012 at 4:14 pm #

      Emily, your comment made me happy! Thank you! I’m glad you’re inspired. I started dotting with a bobby pin. We all start somewhere!

Comments are closed.

