Leopards and Gradients and Stripes, Oh My!

27 Jun

What the heck do I call this mani?  I want to call it a mish mash, but I think that’s technically when each nail is different.  There are a few different techniques showcased here so I’m struggling to find a title.

I’m really loving the peach/coral, aqua-ish and green combination lately.  I keep going back to it.  These are same three polishes I used in my String Art post last week.  I started by polishing my nails with Revlon Peachy.  This was the first time I’d actually painted my nails with it.  I loved it!  It’s a perfect summer color.  Then I did the leopard on my ring finger and thumb.  I was tempted to stop there.  I was so happy with it, but really wanted to do the stripes too.

Once the peachy had dried, I used some striping tape and polished some Orly Green Apple, then sponged on some China Glaze For Audrey.  The gradient on the stripes was a little tricky because generally when you do a tape mani, you want to pull the tape off right away, while the top polish is still wet.  For a sponged gradient, you would generally wait until the base color is pretty dry so the sponge doesn’t pull it all off.  Obviously these two techniques fight against each other.  I made it work though and I love the result!  I’m absolutely in love with this mani and will be sad when I have to take it off.

11 Responses to “Leopards and Gradients and Stripes, Oh My!”

  1. MariJo June 27, 2012 at 6:03 am #

    Such a fun mani!! I’m loving the color combo too!

  2. Stacy June 27, 2012 at 6:07 am #

    Oh, I love all your manis but this has to be one of my favorites!!

  3. Rachael June 27, 2012 at 6:26 am #

    Wow! This has to be one of my favorite manis ever! Was already planning to try your string mani but now i can’t decide which to try first! Great colors, great design! Love it! Keep up the great work!

  4. WonderfulWolf June 27, 2012 at 6:52 am #

    Love that colour combination!

  5. Amanda (Mae) June 27, 2012 at 1:03 pm #

    I am loving this mani as well! I am loving all the different details you did to it. the stripes, the leopard, the gradient, oh my! hehe

  6. everysensory June 27, 2012 at 1:04 pm #

    That’s beautiful! Awesome job 🙂

  7. mandannabird June 27, 2012 at 1:32 pm #

    I love these! Can’t wait to try it. What do you use for striping tape? I’ve just been (tediously) cutting up painters’ tape… yuck. lol

    • TopCoatIt June 27, 2012 at 5:28 pm #

      Thanks Mandannabird! I use THIS type of tape. It’s actually meant to be used as decoration by itself, but why not use it for striping too? It can be a little tricky to work with because it’s so tiny, but much easier than trying to cut those tiny pieces of tape yourself. 🙂

  8. Maya Chehade June 27, 2012 at 4:56 pm #

    Super cute!

    • gelicnailart June 28, 2012 at 2:29 am #

      This is such a funny idea 😀 I love it!

  9. gnarlygnails June 29, 2012 at 11:06 pm #

    love!!!!!!

Comments are closed.

