Lined Nail Art a la Rins

22 Jun

I could never do a Rins design justice.  She’s obviously got an incredibly steady hand and always has such clean, crisp designs.  I love her stuff.  Check her out if you don’t already follow her.

I feel like my hand is usually steadier than this.  These lines just don’t represent my best work.  I do love the design though.  I just wish I did it as well as Rins did.  I’m not, however, in love with my colors.  I love the yellow and blue, but the red shows too red.

My yellow is American Apparel Butter, which I love!  The blue is China Glaze For Audrey and the red is Essie Alligator purse.  In these pictures Alligator Purse looks like a brick sort of red, when really it’s got a lot more orange in it.  This design reminds me of plaid or the lines on notebook paper (probably because of my color choices.)  I topped it off with Jordana Quick Shine top coat.

7 Responses to “Lined Nail Art a la Rins”

  1. hng23 June 22, 2012 at 8:44 am #

    Quite frankly, I like your version better: it’s a little swingier, more fun, more casual. The looser lines remind me of midcentury graphic design.

    • TopCoatIt June 22, 2012 at 9:10 am #

      Oh, well thank you!

  2. Stacy June 22, 2012 at 2:40 pm #

    Ok, clearly this Rins is a robot because those lines are RIDICULOUS!! I like her design, but I LOVE yours because it’s softer and doesn’t look like nail stickers. I look forward to some other color combos you come up with! 🙂

    • TopCoatIt June 22, 2012 at 5:25 pm #

      Thank you Stacy! Rins is amazing with her detail work.

  3. Meredith June 23, 2012 at 12:38 am #

    This looks awesome!

  4. rins June 23, 2012 at 6:45 pm #

    I think you did an amazing job. I can understand why they love your recreation. And I can understand why you love that base color. It is a lovely shade of yellow!

    I am always happy to know when one of my designs inspired a fellow nail art enthusiast. I hope you had fun doing this as much as I did. Thank you so much for the mention. 🙂

  5. thelairweddings June 24, 2012 at 1:11 am #

    i love that yellow! 🙂 so creamy and cheerful!

Comments are closed.

