Twinsie Tuesday: Duochrome

19 Jun

Good Tuesday to you all!  Today we’re posting duochromes or metallics.  I actually only have one metallic polish and I didn’t want to showcase it today, so duochrome it is!  I recently bought a haul of NYX polishes while at the local mall.  By the time I got this one home, the label was gone from the bottom of the bottle.  I specifically remember checking the bottom of the bottles to make sure they all had labels so I knew what they were.  The names of the polishes aren’t on these bottles.  I don’t understand NYX polishes.  I have several of them and they are in three different bottles with three different labels.  One line is called NYX Girls.  It confuses me.  Anyway, when I decided to use this polish for today’s post, I had to try to figure out what it was called.  I googled and googled and finally found it swatched on Scrangie.  This beauty is NYX Jungle.

To dress it up, I used OPI Not Like the Movies (another duochrome or maybe even a multi-chrome) and added some gradient dots to the tips.  I love the way these two colors look together.  Jungle has a blue-green shift and Not Like the Movies goes from grey to green to purple.  My favorite is when the light hits the NLTM just right and it looks purple over Jungle.  So fun.

Oh yeah, and what do you think of my nubbins?  The other day I looked down at my hand and my ring finger nail was broken completely off.  I have no idea how I did it.  You’d think I would have felt something like that, but nope.  So I filed them all down to make my ring finger blend in.  I’m actually really liking the shorter length.  I might keep them a little shorter for a while.  We’ll see.

I’m really liking this design and it was super easy to do.  You might see it again in the future.

Be sure the check out all the other manis today:

Amanda of Amandalandish
Anna of Going to the Showing
Anne of Grape Fizz Nails
Ashley of Art Evolve
Brandi of The Collegiate Nail
Chelsea of Nailed Blog
ChiChi of I’m Just Me…ChiChi
Cordia of Srsly Swatched
Jenn of All That is Gorgeous
Jenna of I’m Still Thinking
Katherine of Haul of Fame
Marisa of Polish Obsession
Meredith of Polish and Charms
Nory of Fierce Make Up and Nails
Sarah of See Sarah Swatch
Tara of Polishy of Truth

22 Responses to “Twinsie Tuesday: Duochrome”

  1. MariJo June 19, 2012 at 6:07 am #

    I think your nails look great at this length!! Love the gradient polka dots. I have this to my “must try” list.

  2. Amanda (Mae) June 19, 2012 at 6:49 am #

    These look fabulous as allways, I love this color

  3. Amanda June 19, 2012 at 8:42 am #

    Such a beauty! I don’t have access to NYX polishes, so I’m not sure about the different bottling…weird, though.

    • TopCoatIt June 20, 2012 at 8:40 pm #

      Thanks Amanda! Isn’t is strange how different parts of the country have different polishes? When I see a polish I’m not familiar with, I usually assume it’s foreign, but more often than not, that’s probably not the case.

  4. Tara June 19, 2012 at 9:04 am #

    This is SO pretty and creative! So for the gradient, you freehanded it? So many ideas I get from you! I need to start an idea wall! 🙂

    • TopCoatIt June 20, 2012 at 8:38 pm #

      Thanks Tara! Yes, it’s freehand. I’m glad I can be your inspiration! My idea wall is pinterest.

  5. The Collegiate Nail June 19, 2012 at 9:13 am #

    Very pretty, I love the dots at the tips!

  6. Anne Thompson June 19, 2012 at 9:58 am #

    Gorgeous color, and I love the polka dots. I really like your nails this length!

    • TopCoatIt June 20, 2012 at 8:34 pm #

      Thanks Anne!

  7. Nory June 19, 2012 at 10:10 am #

    Beautiful!

  8. Meredith June 19, 2012 at 1:24 pm #

    This is absolutely gorgeous!! You did an amazing job!

  9. ChiChi June 19, 2012 at 4:20 pm #

    I like how your nails look at this length. Love the combo of duochrome with the polka dots!

    • TopCoatIt June 20, 2012 at 8:33 pm #

      Thanks ChiChi. The shorter length is actually a bit refreshing. Plus, I’m not so worried about breaking one.

  10. Ashesela June 19, 2012 at 4:43 pm #

    Wow I LOVE this!!! :O Stunning!!! 😀

    • TopCoatIt June 20, 2012 at 8:32 pm #

      Why thank you!

  11. Anna @ GoingtotheShowing June 19, 2012 at 8:47 pm #

    Ohhhhhhhhh! This looks so cool! I reminds me of those lava lamps. You know, the ones you plug in! (= LOL So random.

    • TopCoatIt June 20, 2012 at 8:32 pm #

      Ha ha! I’ve actually seen lava lamp nails! I should try that…

  12. Katherine @ Haul of Fame June 19, 2012 at 9:37 pm #

    So beautiful!!!

  13. Chelsea June 19, 2012 at 9:53 pm #

    I totally agree with what Anna said above: this looks just like a lava lamp! 🙂 I think the shorter nails look fabulous on you, btw.

    • TopCoatIt June 20, 2012 at 8:31 pm #

      Are you guys trying to tell me my nails were too long before or something? Just kidding! I know that’s not what anyone is implying that… or are you? 😉 I’m diggin’ the shorter nails right now. I can actually type without hitting extra keys. 🙂

  14. AllThatIsGorgeous June 19, 2012 at 10:30 pm #

    Love this polish!!! You too always have such creative, gorgeous manis!

    • TopCoatIt June 20, 2012 at 8:30 pm #

      Awe thanks Jenn!

Comments are closed.

