Wood Grain Nails

14 Jun

I’ve had this idea on my “To Do” list for a long time.  Wood grain, patterned after my maple cabinets.  While this mani was super easy to do, I found it to be pretty underwhelming.

As usual, when I showed it to my husband, he didn’t know what it was.  He says, “It looks like brown flames.”  Flames?!  Wrong!  He got the right answer the second time.

My base color is Jordana Chiffon and my grain lines are Sinful Colors Nirvana.  This is not my favorite design by a long shot.  At least I got to cross another one off my list.

9 Responses to “Wood Grain Nails”

  1. ilikedginger (@ilikedginger) June 14, 2012 at 8:40 am #

    I really like it. This is something I’ve wanted to do, I actually have a stamping plate for it.

  2. Tara June 14, 2012 at 9:46 am #

    I really like it! I would love to do this on mine. Maybe it would underwhelm you less if you put little knotty marks or something in it? I am not sure 🙂 I think it is fab.

    • TopCoatIt June 14, 2012 at 9:59 am #

      Thanks Tara! I thought about knots too, but maple doesn’t seem to have many knots. At least my cabinets don’t. I think the underwhelming part was the colors. Jordana Chiffon is a good color for nail art, but I don’t like it as a polish.

  3. everysensory June 14, 2012 at 1:25 pm #

    Neat idea! You have the best ideas 😀 I’d be a bit underwhelmed too… maybe a different type of wood 😀 Or a piece of scrapbooking paper with the grain texture on it, like a newpaper one.. this is pretty though, for sure. Haha your husband cracks me up, mines similar with guessing nail stuff! 😀

  4. Jenna Froggy June 14, 2012 at 2:58 pm #

    I love love this idea…maybe it would be a bit better with different colors?

  5. thepolishsquirrel June 14, 2012 at 4:36 pm #

    Love this idea!

  6. Meredith June 14, 2012 at 9:15 pm #

    I think this is a great idea!

  7. The Collegiate Nail June 14, 2012 at 10:33 pm #

    SO cool! That really looks like wood!

  8. MariJo June 18, 2012 at 10:15 am #

    I really like this!

Comments are closed.

