OPI It’s My Year

6 Jun

Just plain old polish today folks.  I was at Target the other day and couldn’t resist looking through their polish selection and spotted this beauty.  It’s My Year is from the 2011 Miss Universe Collection.

It’s beautiful!  It’s a really warm, somewhat sheer, purple base with a gold shimmer.  It took three coats to get full coverage and went on very smoothly.  I’m really curious what this would look like over black.  The only reason I didn’t layer it over black is because I didn’t want to take black polish off.  It just doesn’t come off all that cleanly.

You’ll see this polish again tomorrow.  I’ve got plans for this baby.  Just some experimentation, nothing mind blowing.  This week has been and will continue to be a busy one, so I’m not doing anything too crazy or time consuming.

To be honest, I’m suspicious that this is an imposter.  There are a couple token OPI characteristics that are missing.  I don’t really care though.  If this were a Designer Series (DS) polish, I would care.  No big deal.  It’s gorgeous either way.

21 Responses to “OPI It’s My Year”

  1. Babs June 6, 2012 at 6:06 am #

    Definitely different but swatches are cool?

    • TopCoatIt June 6, 2012 at 9:44 am #

      I’m not all nail art. I do do swatches from time to time.

      • GoingtotheShowing June 6, 2012 at 9:17 pm #

        (=

  2. MariJo June 6, 2012 at 7:32 am #

    Stunning polish!!! I could never resist the nail polish section in Target ;0).

    • TopCoatIt June 6, 2012 at 9:46 am #

      Mine used to have tons of Sinful Colors, which I appreciated (because they’re cheap and I like them). Now they’re all Essie and OPI.

      • Sophie June 6, 2012 at 10:15 am #

        Lucky for me and my wallet, my Target has lots of Sinfuls. I think the ladies in my area are protesting the higher end prices, for the most part.

      • TopCoatIt June 6, 2012 at 10:30 am #

        I should protest! The only other place I can get Sinful Colors is at drug stores like Walgreens and those aren’t any easier for me to get to.

      • Sophie June 6, 2012 at 10:16 am #

        Oh, I forgot: the polish is just beautiful. It doesn’t need to be nail art all the time; sometimes simple is better 😉 ^^

  3. Jenna Froggy June 6, 2012 at 7:48 am #

    This is a very gorgeous color and I think it looks great on you…can’t wait to see what you do with it.

    • TopCoatIt June 6, 2012 at 9:46 am #

      Now the pressure’s on! I hope you’re not disappointed tomorrow. 🙂

  4. thepolishsquirrel June 6, 2012 at 9:10 am #

    Love it! I miss Target!

    • TopCoatIt June 6, 2012 at 9:47 am #

      You don’t live by one? I don’t go all that often as it’s a good 20+ minute drive from my house. Sometimes it’s not worth the gas money.

      • thepolishsquirrel June 6, 2012 at 9:59 am #

        I go to school in Boston and can’t get to one because I don’t have my car. But at home there’s one 5 minutes from my house. So usually I go about once a week, but I haven’t been since January 😦

  5. dawn June 6, 2012 at 9:47 am #

    it’s not an impostor lol…i have it, bought it last year from ulta. it’s a gorgeous color.

    • TopCoatIt June 6, 2012 at 9:49 am #

      Oh good! I’m always suspicious when I don’t find a serial number on the bottle.

      • dawn June 6, 2012 at 10:32 am #

        i can understand that

  6. am1ec June 6, 2012 at 11:00 am #

    ❤this color

  7. Anne Thompson June 6, 2012 at 1:17 pm #

    Oooh this is so gorgeous! So much shimmer!

  8. Erin Elizabeth June 6, 2012 at 3:25 pm #

    This color really is nice… It catches the light nicely too.

  9. Tracey O'Dowd June 6, 2012 at 4:42 pm #

    One of my absolute favorite polishes ever!

  10. Laurie June 6, 2012 at 6:01 pm #

    Holy cow I had no idea how gorgeous this was!

Comments are closed.

