Warm Stripes

2 Jun

Super easy mani today.  It’s inspired by an Old Navy shirt that I picked up on clearance a few weeks ago.  This actually took a deceptively long time to do.

I only have one off white, creamy colored polish; OPI Swedish Nude.  While I love the color, it’s got awful coverage!  This took five coats for acceptable coverage.  Five coats!  I should’ve started with a coat of white, then put Swedish Nude over the top.  I did the stripes with a thin striping brush.  My stripes are Sinful Colors Nirvana (brown), Milani Pink Hottie, Sinful Colors Pull Over (yellow), and Julep Alicia (coral).  I finished it off with Poshé.

Who has a good recommendation for a warm, off white, creamy colored polish with good coverage?  Five coats is not acceptable!

10 Responses to “Warm Stripes”

  1. MariJo June 2, 2012 at 6:15 am #

    Beautiful!! I love the colors!

  2. Tara June 2, 2012 at 8:49 am #

    I’ll have to think about a polish that does not require 5 coats (that is ridiculous!). But I’ve gotta say those stripes are amazing! And freehand? Wow.

  3. Nicole June 2, 2012 at 10:20 am #

    wow!

  4. victoria June 2, 2012 at 10:21 am #

    love it! 🙂

  5. Jenna Froggy June 2, 2012 at 6:14 pm #

    This looks great, but I have to agree 5 coats is just too much.

  6. nailsbeautiqued June 2, 2012 at 10:27 pm #

    I love stripe mani’s and the color combo 🙂

  7. Crystal June 3, 2012 at 12:20 am #

    I second the need for a more opaque off white polish… I bet OPI makes one.. Or maybe Zoya?

    Love this design! Very cute!

  8. Stacy June 3, 2012 at 7:51 am #

    This is such a lovely mani!! I’m so jealous, there’s not even the slightest chance that I could get my nails to look this good freehand!

  9. katie June 16, 2012 at 7:51 pm #

    Illamsqua “Load” is a good one, despite its gross name and expensive price tag 🙂

    • TopCoatIt June 16, 2012 at 7:56 pm #

      Thanks for the tip! I’ll have a look at it!

Comments are closed.

