Mickey Mouse Clubhouse

23 May

Mickey Mouse Clubhouse is on each and every morning at my house.  The little one loves it!  My good buddy Kyrsten is headed to Disneyland soon and asked what I would wear on my nails.  Definitely Mickey Mouse Clubhouse.

This is a bit abstract, yes, but all five main characters are there.  Just in case you’re as well versed in Disney Junior shows as I, let me tell you what you’re looking at.  Feel free to google images of these characters for reference. 😉  On my index finger we have Daisy Duck with her purple shirt and matching bow.  I used OPI Do You Lilac It and sponged on some China Glaze White on White.  The darker detail work on the bow is Milani Rad Purple.  I like how the gradient is a little rough.  It reminds me of her feathers.  On my middle finger, as if it’s not obvious, is Mickey himself.  Mickey wears red pants with yellow shoes, then of course I added his silhouettes.  The yellow is Sinful Colors Pull Over, the red is Color Club Reddy or Not and the black is China Glaze Liquid Leather.  My ring finger is Minnie with her pink dress and bow with white polka dots.  This fading polka dot design came from Chalkboard Nails.  The pink is OPI Pink Friday and the white is China Glaze White on White.  My pinkie is Donald Duck who wears a blue sailor’s top with yellow trim and a red bow tie.  The blue is Jordana Smooth Blue, the yellow is Sinful Colors Pull Over and the red is Color Club Reddy or Not.

On my thumb, we have a very abstract Goofy.  Goofy wears an orange shirt with a brown vest and a green hat.  I had a hard time deciding what to do with this one.  I actually did one thing, hated it and started over.  I went with a orange and brown ruffian then added a portion of his green hat.  My orange is Julep Parker, the brown is Finger Paints Sketchy Character, the light green is Orly Green Apple and the darker green is China Glaze Starboard.  Everything is finished off with Poshé.

I love it.  It’s a very happy mani and makes me want to go to Disneyland again.  I haven’t been for about five years.  It’s time to go again.  What do you think?  Is it too abstract or can you tell what it is?

11 Responses to “Mickey Mouse Clubhouse”

  1. MariJo May 23, 2012 at 6:29 am #

    This is so cute!! I love how creative you were with the designs!

  2. Jenna Froggy May 23, 2012 at 10:57 am #

    This is so nice! I love how you thought out each design :O)

    • TopCoatIt May 23, 2012 at 1:14 pm #

      Thanks Jenna! Coming up with a design for each character was the hard part.

  3. Kyrsten May 23, 2012 at 4:56 pm #

    Thank you! My nails don’t look (or will ever look) as good as yours, but I may use some of those designs on my toes…If I can reach them.

    • TopCoatIt May 23, 2012 at 5:01 pm #

      You’re welcome! I’m sure your daughter will be more than willing to help you reach your toes. 😉

  4. Cheryl Cheryl May 23, 2012 at 10:48 pm #

    wow. such detail. And superb creativity. you have the best art and color combos. amazing. NICE!!!!! I should go to Disney too 🙂 haven’t been in FOREVER!

    • TopCoatIt May 23, 2012 at 10:53 pm #

      Thank you, Thank you, Cheryl Cheryl!

  5. ChiChi May 24, 2012 at 4:56 pm #

    ahh! I love this!! So creative!!

  6. Roxanne Barrera May 31, 2012 at 1:15 pm #

    Hi, your art work is amazing! What type of sponge do you use to get that gradient effect? I have tried using those triangle sponges for makeup and I can never seem to get it right 😦

    • TopCoatIt May 31, 2012 at 1:33 pm #

      Thanks Roxanne! I do use makeup wedge sponges for my gradients. You can either use them as they are and just use all the corners, or you can rip off small pieces and use the rough ripped edge. Sometimes I put a little polish on a piece of paper or something and dip in to it and sometimes I just use the polish brush and brush the polish right on the sponge. Keep practicing, you’ll get it!

Comments are closed.

