Slices of Color

19 May

For lack of a better way to describe this design, these are slices of color.  I drove past a car the other day that had a sticker on it’s back window that made me think to do this.  I have no idea what the sticker was and there was no color to it.  I tried to think of a out of the box color combination.

I love these color together!  I’ve paired this chartreuse-ish green, Julep Selena and a coral color together before.  It doesn’t sound like it should work, but it does.  Here I’ve used Revlon Peachy with Selena.  The white is China Glaze White on White.  I actually started with NYX Girls White, but it was really thin and I didn’t want to have to do 3+ coats to get full opacity, so I switched to White on White.  The blue is NYX Sepia.  Isn’t sepia supposed to be a brown color?  Isn’t that the effect you put on pictures when you want them to look antique or old timey?   The name of this color confuses me.  It’s nice though.  It’s essentially the same as NYX Ink, but a creme rather than a jelly.

I had originally planned to use tape to do this design, but decided I wasn’t patient enough to wait for things to dry or use a bunch of top coats to expedite the process.  So, I opted for a striping brush.  I used a striping brush to outline things, then filled them in with a small detail nail art brush.  I think it was much easier without the tape.

This mani has a dramatic effect.  It’s very eye catching.  I topped it off with Poshé, which I noticed today on the bottle is cruelty free.  Yay!  I love seeing that on products I use.  I buy Walmart brand body wash as opposed to Dove for that exact reason.  It says right on the bottle that it’s not tested on animals and that makes me happy.

What do you think of this design?  Can you think of a better name than “color slices?”

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

4 Responses to “Slices of Color”

  1. Laurie May 19, 2012 at 9:01 am #

    LOVE this color combo!!!!!

  2. Nicole NailPolishWars May 19, 2012 at 11:02 pm #

    I called it a Tractor Beam mani!!!!!

    • TopCoatIt May 19, 2012 at 11:04 pm #

      Ha ha! Tractor beam! I love it!

  3. Babs La Goffe May 20, 2012 at 6:46 pm #

    That actually appears more like a warp trail. “Scotty, I want Warp Speed in 3 minutes or We’re dead.” Hahahaha

Comments are closed.

