Framed

18 May

Let me start off by saying this manicure is a complete rip off from Nicole at Nail Polish Wars.  I saw her post today and loved it!  I didn’t know what I was going to do to my nails today and this one seemed like a quick one.

I had a color combination in mind; grey and salmon.  I polished my nails with Julep Annette, a super soft grey creme.  On my thumb, I layered Julep Alicia and didn’t like it.  I’ve used these two polishes together before and loved them, but in this arrangement, not so much.  When I’m experimenting, I generally start with my thumb since you only get peeks of it in my photos.

I looked through my polishes trying to think of another option and just kept going back to Nicole’s green.  I pulled out my Sally Hansen Ivy League.  I taped off my tips and went at it.  I wasn’t real impressed with the results until I added a top coat.  I’ve started to think of all sorts of color combinations I can do this with.

13 Responses to “Framed”

  1. Amanda (Mae) May 18, 2012 at 6:39 am #

    LOVE IT! So pretty!

  2. Jessica McFerran May 18, 2012 at 9:27 am #

    Going to do this one today!

    • TopCoatIt May 18, 2012 at 11:35 am #

      It was really easy Jess!

  3. Tara May 18, 2012 at 9:40 am #

    This is so cool! How did you get up by the cuticles so even? Did you tape it off or was that also freehand?

    • TopCoatIt May 18, 2012 at 11:37 am #

      I’m just that good Tara! Ha ha! I taped the tips, but yes, around my cuticle was freehand.

      • Tara May 18, 2012 at 12:08 pm #

        You did an AMAZING job. That is one of my goals is to get where I don’t have to do brush cleanup around the cuticle – that it is just nice and even like your green.

      • TopCoatIt May 18, 2012 at 12:12 pm #

        Practice, practice. I rarely have to do any clean up at the cuticle when I’m polishing. Nail art is another story. Splatters and water marbles are the worst for clean up.

  4. Laurie May 18, 2012 at 11:18 am #

    Well you know I love this because I I adore “rimmed” mani’s LOL! I think you have the perfect finger shape for this type of style too–soooo lovely! I haven’t done one in a while and this is inspiring me too!

    • TopCoatIt May 18, 2012 at 11:38 am #

      Rimmed! That’s the word I couldn’t think of when I wrote my post! I knew there was a name for it. Thanks Laurie!

  5. Nicole NailPolishWars May 18, 2012 at 2:38 pm #

    That looks awesome!!!! Thanks for the mention!!!!!

  6. Jenna Froggy May 18, 2012 at 7:34 pm #

    Oh! I love this!!! It is so gorgeous :O)

Comments are closed.

