Water Marble Wednesday

9 May

Water marbling is fun to do. It’s a challenge that I like to take on now and again, then admire my handy work.  While I probably won’t be making Water Marble Wednesday a weekly occurrence,  I’ll throw one on here every now and again.

My daughter has a super cute pair of jammies that was the inspiration for this mani.  I’ve always loved the colors and finally decided to turn them in to a work of art. 🙂  Some of them got a little muddy during the process, but that’s bound to happy from time to time with this technique.

My index finger is my favorite.  I went a little simpler with the design while I was dragging the polish around and I wished I’d done that with all the rest.  Next time.

My color palate for this manicure was: China Glaze White on White, Sinful Colors Nirvana, OPI Pink Friday, Orly Green Apple and China Glaze For Audrey.  I topped it off with Poshé, which is quickly becoming my favorite top coat.  I love that I don’t have to worry about shrinkage with it!  I loath polish shrinkage!  Have you tried water marbling yet?  It’s really nothing to be scared of.

13 Responses to “Water Marble Wednesday”

  1. Amanda (Mae) May 9, 2012 at 6:14 am #

    I LOVE them !!! they look awesome!

  2. Tara May 9, 2012 at 7:16 am #

    I love this combo! I’ve only done it once; I really need to do it more.

  3. GoingtotheShowing May 9, 2012 at 1:22 pm #

    This is the SHIZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ!

    • TopCoatIt May 9, 2012 at 1:44 pm #

      LOL! Why thank you! 🙂

  4. everysensory May 9, 2012 at 1:42 pm #

    I’m scared 😀 This looks awesome, however! One day I’ll brave up and try it 😀

    • TopCoatIt May 9, 2012 at 1:46 pm #

      Don’t be scared. Have you seen my water marble tutorial? That may be helpful.

      • everysensory May 9, 2012 at 1:48 pm #

        I have, and thats what I’ll use when I get my brave on 😀

      • TopCoatIt May 9, 2012 at 5:11 pm #

        Oh good! Remember, you don’t have to show anyone your first attempt. Just try one or two fingers to get a feel for it.

  5. gnarlygnails May 9, 2012 at 7:23 pm #

    yeah im a hater of water marbling personally, it has been a nightmare every single time. but then i see this and it gives me a renewed sense of urgency to try it just one more time. this is awesome girl….it looks like a funky awesome french marble.

    • TopCoatIt May 9, 2012 at 7:39 pm #

      Thank you! It does look like a funky french doesn’t it? With the white lining up along the tips. It really isn’t too hard if you’re doing it right. Check out my Water Marble Tutorial (if you haven’t already). It goes step by step through the process with a few tips along the way. Don’t be afraid to ask for help either. I’m happy to try and answer any questions you have.

  6. ChiChi May 9, 2012 at 9:44 pm #

    The reason I haven’t tried water marbling is because I’m so nervous. There I said it. Yours looks amazing!

    • TopCoatIt May 9, 2012 at 11:13 pm #

      You don’t have to show anyone. Just try is already! It’s not scary.

  7. rins May 10, 2012 at 1:38 am #

    I love how this turned out! The colors were gorgeous and the marble shape on each nail was consistent! It looks great!

Comments are closed.

