Ruffian: OPI DS Radiance + NYX Ink

4 May

Ever have one of those manicures that just gets worse and worse and worse as you keep working on it? Yep, I had one of those today. I got a couple fingers in and gave up. I took it off. It was a disaster. I’ll try again someday. Oh well.

I’ve been low on inspiration this week. I’ve been pretty busy, so maybe that’s why. I have had OPI DS Radiance for a while, but hadn’t actually polished my nails with it. It’s the only silver foil I have, so I can’t compare it to anything else, but I thought it was beautiful. Application was fantastic, but I did feel like I needed three coats to cover all the bald spots.

I paired it with NYX Ink, a cobalt blue jelly. NYX Ink seems a little thick to me, but it’s a gorgeous polish. I love how it looks like I dipped my nails in blue glass. So pretty.

Ruffians are hard for me. It’s difficult to make that line pretty. Of course it looks nice in the pictures and I’m sure anyone that saw my hand would think they looked wonderful.

15 Responses to “Ruffian: OPI DS Radiance + NYX Ink”

  1. am1ec May 4, 2012 at 6:10 am #

    love this gorg blue!!

  2. Amanda (Mae) May 4, 2012 at 6:11 am #

    they really do look wonderful! You are being too hard on yourself! However I do know the feeling that when you do a manicure and you just dont think it went well. but thsi one looks great, as allways!

    • TopCoatIt May 5, 2012 at 7:25 pm #

      Awe… Thanks Amanda! You’re so sweet!

  3. MariJo May 4, 2012 at 7:47 am #

    This is so gorgeous!!! Are there 2 versions of DS Reflection? The one I have is a red scattered holo.

    • TopCoatIt May 4, 2012 at 9:11 am #

      Whoops! You’re right! I misnamed the silver foil. I’ve corrected it; OPI DS Radiance. Thanks for calling me on that!

      • MariJo May 4, 2012 at 8:57 pm #

        You’re welcome hon!! Looking at it again, I fell in love all over again ;0)

  4. Anna May 4, 2012 at 10:05 am #

    LOVE the jelly!

  5. Jenna Froggy May 4, 2012 at 3:54 pm #

    Oh, that blue is fantastic!

    • TopCoatIt May 5, 2012 at 7:26 pm #

      Anna and Jenna, it really IS a fantastic blue! I used a lot of it when I made my Starry Starry Sky franken.

  6. Rachel May 4, 2012 at 9:22 pm #

    I know exactly how you feel about being a perfectionist when no one else even notices, haha. They do look really great though! I’ve heard Ink stains, but you’re probably safe since you have a base.

    • TopCoatIt May 5, 2012 at 7:16 pm #

      I’ve used this before, but don’t recall any staining. I haven’t worn it by itself though.

  7. Laurie May 4, 2012 at 11:17 pm #

    The silver and blue together are AHmazing!!!

    • TopCoatIt May 5, 2012 at 7:16 pm #

      Thanks Laurie!

  8. The Collegiate Nail May 6, 2012 at 1:14 am #

    I love Ruffians! These colors are awesome!

    • TopCoatIt May 8, 2012 at 10:16 am #

      Why thanks! Ruffians are one of those pretty easy manis to do that have a dramatic effect. I love when I can do an awesome design without any nail art tools.

Comments are closed.

