Twinsie Tuesday: Water Marble Skittles

24 Apr

Hey all! This week we are doing skittles. Other than my feather skittles, I don’t think I’ve done any “taste the rainbow” manicures. Oh, I guess there was the cloud skittles that went along with the feathers. I didn’t want to do plain old skittles. BTW, Skittles sound sooo good right now! Dieting and thinking about candy do not do well together! Anyway, I was just thinking the other day that I hadn’t done a water marble in a really long time; since my Christmas peppermint candy nails. It was time to bust out my carton of distilled water and get to work!

Don’t these look like they should taste or smell fruity? Mmmm… I can taste the tropical Skittles now. I love this mani. I paired each color with Julep’s Annette, a soft grey cream. I love how it softens the colors a bit. Contrasted with white they would’ve popped a lot more and been a lot more vivid. The grey cools things down a bit.

If you’re thinking the green looks a bit blurry, it’s because it actually is. I dipped my finger in a little too close to the center of my bulls eye (after I dragged in the design of course) so the lines aren’t quite as crisp. So the grey on all of my fingers is Julep Annette. The blue on my thumb is China Glaze For Audrey, the yellow on my index finger is Julep Blake, the purple on my middle finger is OPI Do You Lilac It, the coral on my ring finger is Julep Alicia and the green on my pinkie is Orly Green Apple. The three Julep polishes I used for this manicure all came in my Maven Boxes. I love being a Maven and getting that little black box in the mail each month. You should sign up for the program if you’re not already a member.

Which finger is your favorite? I love them all! I think I’m leaning towards either the yellow or purple as the front runner though.

Be sure the check out all the skittles today:

Amanda of Amandalandish
Anna of Going to the Showing
Anne of Grape Fizz Nails
Ashley of Art Evolve
Brandi of The Collegiate Nail
Chelsea of Nailed Blog
ChiChi of I’m Just Me…ChiChi
Jenn of All That is Gorgeous
Jenna of I’m Still Thinking
Katherine of Haul of Fame
Marisa of Polish Obsession
Meredith of Polish and Charms
Nory of Fierce Make Up and Nails
Sarah of See Sarah Swatch

27 Responses to “Twinsie Tuesday: Water Marble Skittles”

  1. Amanda April 24, 2012 at 7:31 am #

    Rachel, you have yet again blown me away. Love, love, love this skittle. Your talent for such subtle nail art is really honed. Beautiful.

    • TopCoatIt April 24, 2012 at 8:51 am #

      Thank you very much Amanda!

  2. Tara April 24, 2012 at 8:27 am #

    I like it! It is a very interesting way to do Skittles…not expected, but VERY pretty!

    • TopCoatIt April 24, 2012 at 8:52 am #

      Thanks Tara! Unexpected was exactly what I was shooting for. I love the element of surprise. 🙂

  3. Anne Thompson April 24, 2012 at 8:37 am #

    Oh my goodness these are absolutely fabulous!! They totally look like they should smell fruity! I’ve tried water marbling and they are so tricky, so you did an amaaaazing job! THe colors are perfect together, I love the purple the moset!

    • TopCoatIt April 24, 2012 at 8:54 am #

      Thank you Anne! Water marbling can be tricky. This one was no exception. I had a few polishes that didn’t want to play nicely with the whole process.

  4. MariJo April 24, 2012 at 9:36 am #

    I love this!!! It looks so amazing. Such a creative way to do a skittle mani. It amazes me that you’re able to get the same design on each nail.

    • TopCoatIt April 24, 2012 at 9:51 am #

      Thank you MariJo!

  5. Nory April 24, 2012 at 10:28 am #

    Very cool! This is awesome!!!

    • TopCoatIt April 24, 2012 at 10:34 am #

      Thanks Nory!

  6. SeeSarah Swatch April 24, 2012 at 11:14 am #

    these are amazing!! your water marble skills are seriously wonderful, and i love the colors you picked out and the grey you paired them with

    • TopCoatIt April 24, 2012 at 11:32 am #

      Thanks Sarah!

  7. Anna April 24, 2012 at 11:51 am #

    This turned out awesome! LOVE it!

    • TopCoatIt April 24, 2012 at 2:07 pm #

      Thank you Anna!

  8. Katherine @ Haul of Fame April 24, 2012 at 1:14 pm #

    This turned out amazing!!! I love how these all fit together so well. If I had to pick a favorite finger it may be the purlple….or the blue. Love this!!

    • TopCoatIt April 24, 2012 at 2:10 pm #

      Thanks Katherine! It’s hard to pick a favorite, huh?

  9. Amy Matsumoto April 24, 2012 at 1:20 pm #

    This is probably my favorite one that I’ve seen so far. Beautiful!

    • TopCoatIt April 24, 2012 at 2:14 pm #

      Thanks Amy!

  10. Meredith April 24, 2012 at 1:43 pm #

    I LOVE this! I have yet to try a water marble. They always look so easy, but I have a feeling for me they wouldn’t be!

    • TopCoatIt April 24, 2012 at 2:17 pm #

      Thanks Meredith! I wouldn’t say that water marbles are easy, but expect to have a couple failures as you learn how it works.

  11. segmation April 24, 2012 at 5:26 pm #

    I like your purple nails!

    • TopCoatIt April 25, 2012 at 8:10 pm #

      Thanks Beth!

  12. ChiChi April 24, 2012 at 11:44 pm #

    I love this skittle mani! I’ve got to try watermarbling one day. But I’m sure it will be a disappointment.

    • TopCoatIt April 25, 2012 at 9:05 am #

      Thanks ChiChi! My first couple water marbles were disappointments. It’ll take a few tries to get the hang of it. I posted a water marble tutorial a few months back that might be helpful.

  13. Sarah Stosich May 3, 2012 at 2:54 am #

    Oooh…I love this!! Especially the multicolors.

  14. Katy June 2, 2012 at 11:11 am #

    I had to come check this out when you said you’d done a skittles water marble! I love yours because they look like the petals on flowers.

    • TopCoatIt June 2, 2012 at 11:15 am #

      Thanks Katy! Yours was a water marble too right? It really does make me want some candy. 🙂

Comments are closed.

