Twinsie Tuesday: Chevron Tape Mani

17 Apr

Tuesdays feel like they come around more often than just once a week. This week we’re all playing with tape and busting out some nail art. Some of us dabble in nail art quite a bit and some not quite so much. It should be fun to see what everyone presents today.

Back in November I posted this Chevron Nail Tutorial. It has gotten a lot of traffic and has been pinned many, many times on Pinterest, so I’m capitalizing on it’s popularity. I loved that mani and have been wanting to do another one ever since. This is the perfect opportunity.

You would think that after borrowing pinking shears from my neighbor to do the first one I would’ve gone out an bought a pair for myself, but no. This time around I borrowed a pair of shears from my mom. If you look closely at the two manicures you can see that the shapes of the chevrons are a little different as a result of the two different pairs of shears I used. Each time I would look at pinking shears when I was out shopping, I couldn’t decide which shape I liked better and wanted to spend my money on. I have decided that I definitely like this shape better. It’s a lot sharper. Maybe I’ll just “forget” to return my mom’s.

I was undecided about which colors I wanted to use. I kept coming up with combinations that had grey in them. I love grey and all, but my last one was grey and yellow so I wanted to do something different than that. I texted my interior design student sister for her opinions. We can all thank her for inspiring this color combination.

Can anyone guess what color my blue is? Not a very hard riddle, I’m sure. Yes, China Glaze For Audrey. Such a fabulous color and versatile blue. The white is China Glaze White on White. As a side note it anyone’s interested, I’ve been using PochΓ© top coat lately and am loving it! I haven’t used it on any seriously detailed nail art yet to see how it performs, but so far, it may be my new “go to” top coat.

Be sure the check out all the tape manis today:

Amanda of Amandalandish
Anna of Going to the Showing
Anne of Grape Fizz Nails
Ashley of Art Evolve
Brandi of The Collegiate Nail
Chelsea of Nailed Blog
ChiChi of I’m Just Me…ChiChi
Jenn of All That is Gorgeous
Jenna of I’m Still Thinking
Katherine of Haul of Fame
Marisa of Polish Obsession
Meredith of Polish and Charms
Nory of Fierce Make Up and Nails
Sarah of See Sarah Swatch

33 Responses to “Twinsie Tuesday: Chevron Tape Mani”

  1. MariJo April 17, 2012 at 6:32 am #

    This is so pretty!!! I love the color combo!! And yours is so neat!

    • TopCoatIt April 17, 2012 at 12:51 pm #

      Thanks MariJo! It takes some trial and error to figure out how to get crisp lines. I’ve had many failures along the way.

  2. Amanda April 17, 2012 at 6:38 am #

    Fantastic! Your skills are amazing!

    • TopCoatIt April 17, 2012 at 12:51 pm #

      Thanks Amanda!

  3. Anna April 17, 2012 at 9:37 am #

    WOW. I am in awe.

  4. The Collegiate Nail April 17, 2012 at 10:40 am #

    i love love love this!! And these colors together.. ahhh just so perfect!

    • TopCoatIt April 17, 2012 at 12:48 pm #

      The colors are perfect thanks to my sister. I was thinking too hard about it I guess. πŸ™‚

  5. Ashesela April 17, 2012 at 10:47 am #

    This is really beautiful!! πŸ˜€

    • TopCoatIt April 17, 2012 at 12:52 pm #

      Thank you Ashesela!

  6. Meredith April 17, 2012 at 1:52 pm #

    This looks amazing!!!! I love it!

    • TopCoatIt April 17, 2012 at 2:19 pm #

      Thanks Meredith!

  7. ChiChi April 17, 2012 at 2:02 pm #

    these chevrons look awesome! I wish I could do something as awesome as this.

    • TopCoatIt April 17, 2012 at 2:23 pm #

      You can! With a little practice anyone can pull off an awesome tape mani!

  8. AllThatIsGorgeous April 17, 2012 at 2:13 pm #

    Super-duper gorgeous mani! I love everything about it!!!!

    • TopCoatIt April 17, 2012 at 2:24 pm #

      Why thank you so much!

  9. Laurie April 17, 2012 at 3:01 pm #

    ARG!!!! It looks AHmazing!!!!!! I have yet to try a chevron style mani. I think I’m intimidated by it lol!

    • TopCoatIt April 17, 2012 at 3:22 pm #

      Chevrons are easier than water marbles. You can do it Laurie! Don’t be scared!

  10. Anne Thompson April 17, 2012 at 3:16 pm #

    Ooooh I love this! Great job with the chevron, and the colors are beautiful together.

    • TopCoatIt April 17, 2012 at 3:23 pm #

      Thanks a bunch Anne!

  11. Beautiful Kayekie April 17, 2012 at 5:19 pm #

    Oh. Em. Gee. I really love this! It’s so stand-out and I love the colour combo.

    • TopCoatIt April 17, 2012 at 5:44 pm #

      Thanks Kaye! I’m really loving it

  12. Tara April 17, 2012 at 9:06 pm #

    This is really beautiful! I’ve not had much experience with tape manis, and I feel like I’ve had a lot of bleeding. But practice makes perfect I guess! This is a great look, and one is like to copycat soon πŸ™‚

    • TopCoatIt April 17, 2012 at 10:08 pm #

      Thanks Tara! Sometimes it’s difficult to ensure that your tape is completely sealed. I didn’t have any leakage problems with this design, but did on another tape mani I recently did. I had to start over on one finger several times. I just couldn’t get a good seal. Even with lots of practice, I’m not above a screw up here and there.

  13. Katherine @ Haul of Fame April 17, 2012 at 9:53 pm #

    This came out amazing, just as I expected. You have some awesome nail art skills πŸ˜‰

    • TopCoatIt April 17, 2012 at 10:10 pm #

      Oh why thank you Katherine! I must say I am quite proud of this one.

  14. miranda (@arfblat) April 18, 2012 at 12:28 am #

    GORGEOUS chevrons, I love the color combo!

    • TopCoatIt April 18, 2012 at 9:20 am #

      Thank you Miranda!

  15. Valentine April 18, 2012 at 1:21 am #

    Love love love these!

    • TopCoatIt April 18, 2012 at 9:22 am #

      Thank thank thank you Valentine!

  16. Krista September 8, 2012 at 4:59 pm #

    I LOVE LOVE this Manicure!!! Could you tell me what kind of pinking shears you used, I can’t seem to find the deeper ones like this. Thanks kristamcmillan@ q.com

    • TopCoatIt September 8, 2012 at 9:07 pm #

      Thanks Krista! I don’t know that I could tell you a brand or anything, but they were pinking shears for cutting fabric, not craft paper scissors. If you go to my Julep post for DIY chevron nails, you can see a picture of the shears. They have metal handles that are painted black if that helps you. Good luck!

  17. Alicia January 22, 2013 at 8:59 am #

    I always use a basecoat(seche vite) and the seche vite topcoat but I always have chipping. Maybe I’m too rough with my hands:( should I be doing something to the nail besides cleaning with alcohol before base coat?

    • TopCoatIt January 22, 2013 at 10:05 am #

      I have to say I’ve never been real impressed with the Seche Clear base coat. I only use it if I’m looking to prevent staining. I would try different base and top coats and see if you can find a better combination for yourself. What works or one person won’t always work for another.

Comments are closed.

