NYX Ink + Lynnderella Cauldron Drippings

16 Apr

Did anyone notice the change I made to my blog over the weekend?  It’s small, but a big deal.  I’ve got my own domain!  I’m now officially TopCoatIt.com.  Yeehaw!  Update your bookmarks people!

Oh man, I love this layering combination!  I’ve had Cauldron Drippings for a few months now and haven’t ever really found the opportunity to use it.  I couldn’t think of the perfect polish to use it over; until now.

I give you NYX Ink.  I would call this a cobalt, blue jelly.  It’s gorgeous!  The only other time I had used this polish was when I made my first franken, Starry Starry Sky.  Ink was my predominant color in that creation.  A negative of Ink?  It stained my nails.  An extra coat of base coat probably would’ve solved that.  The worst staining was where the polish went outside my base coat.  I had to bust out the whitening toothpaste and nail brush.  A good scrub and almost all of the blue was gone and my nails were minty fresh. 🙂

The first time I saw a swatch of Cauldron Drippings I was in love!  I’m not a crazy glitter lady, but I couldn’t resist this one.  The orange got me.  Orange glitter isn’t something that can be layered over just any polish.  I try not to pick the obvious choice for polish colors in situations like this, so it took me a while to decide how to use it.

I was tempted to do this as a full mani, but was glad I didn’t do it once I realized how much Ink stains.  When I use it again, I’ll double or triple up on my base coat.

10 Responses to “NYX Ink + Lynnderella Cauldron Drippings”

  1. Beautiful Kayekie April 16, 2012 at 9:06 am #

    Im stopping in to let you know your nails are to die for, and although I’ve only just recently discovered your blog I really enjoy reading it. I have nominated you for the Liebster Award, which you can find at:

    http://beautifulkayekie.wordpress.com/2012/04/16/ive-been-nominated-2/

    All the best! Kaye xx

    • TopCoatIt April 16, 2012 at 9:09 am #

      Thanks so much Kaye! I appreciate the kind words and nomination! I hope you’ll come back often! 🙂

      • Beautiful Kayekie April 16, 2012 at 9:20 am #

        Your very welcome, I will most definitely be reading 🙂

  2. everysensory April 16, 2012 at 1:00 pm #

    Congrats on your domain, and awesome nails. I love Cauldron Drippings, it’s a tricky looking polish but looks stunning on the midnight blue. I wonder if it would look like shooting sparks from a fire over a red? Nice job!

    • TopCoatIt April 16, 2012 at 1:14 pm #

      Ooh… I’m liking the red idea. I’m imagining something. I’ll have to try it and let you know how it turns out.

  3. Amanda (Mae) April 16, 2012 at 7:05 pm #

    Love these!

  4. Tara April 17, 2012 at 9:18 pm #

    I love this combo! I never ordered that one as I was not sure how I’d wear it, and since I was limited on how many I could buy, I chose others that I knew I’d want 🙂 most blues seem to stain the heck out of my nails – the dark ones, that is.

    • TopCoatIt April 17, 2012 at 9:58 pm #

      I had to exercise restraint when I ordered too. Love all the Lynnderellas!

  5. Adrianna garcia September 9, 2012 at 11:56 pm #

    I would really like to purchase your nail polish I just dont know how
    Plz let me know thank you

    • TopCoatIt September 10, 2012 at 8:52 pm #

      Hi Adrianna, I don’t actually sell my polishes. If you’re referring to Lynnderella’s Cauldron Drippings, you can purchase Lynnderella polishes from her eBay store.

Comments are closed.

