Purple Syrup Nails

6 Apr

These Syrup Nails are harder than they appear to be.  I actually tried this technique with a few different polishes and  it just didn’t show through; it didn’t translate.  The other day I picked up this Milani Rad Purple and was pleasantly surprised it was a jelly.  It’s from their neon collection and it’s beautiful!

So, syrup nails are a way of using a jelly to get a gradient effect.  Notice the color is more concentrated at the tip.  I only wish you couldn’t see the lines from the different layers.  Maybe a little glitter would’ve hidden that a bit.  I love this effect, but I think I love this polish even more.  It doesn’t try with much of a shine, but isn’t matte enough to truly be matte either.  Definitely needs a top coat if you want that glossy look.

Oh, the formula for this polish is awesome, by the way!  Such a smooth application!  I have nothing negative to say about this polish, except I guess, that it doesn’t really look neon to me.  Bright?  Yes.  Neon?  Not so much.

4 Responses to “Purple Syrup Nails”

  1. MariJo April 6, 2012 at 6:42 am #

    This looks really pretty!! I want to try it also. I think it’s a really cool look.

  2. Amanda (Mae) April 6, 2012 at 9:16 pm #

    I have nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award: http://maesbeauty.wordpress.com/2012/04/06/blog-awards/

    • TopCoatIt April 6, 2012 at 10:38 pm #

      Why thank you!

  3. Cheryl Cheryl April 8, 2012 at 12:01 pm #

    very pretty. wonderful effect!

Comments are closed.

