Faux Stud Mani

29 Mar

Today’s mani was inspired by The Nailasaurus and her stud mani.  I don’t have any studs and so I decided to give it a go with a dotting tool.

The base color for this mani is China Glaze First Class Ticket.  When I bought this polish I was looking for a dark blue and when I got home realized it was purple.  To add to my disappointment, the brush was all messed up.  Several of the bristles were bent and sticking out.  I probably should’ve taken it back because of the crappy brush, but to be honest, that’s just too much work.  My “studs” are OPI DS Radiance.

I like this design and think it’s a crazy, easy way to get a high fashion stud manicure.

6 Responses to “Faux Stud Mani”

  1. MariJo March 29, 2012 at 6:34 am #

    This looks amazing!!! I would never have thought to do dots instead. Beautiful!

    • TopCoatIt March 29, 2012 at 8:50 pm #

      Thanks MariJo! It really was a “duh, I can do that with dots” sort of thing.

  2. everysensory March 29, 2012 at 12:00 pm #

    Looks really nice! Shame about the polish colour and brush disappointment, but you have done a beautiful job regardless of brush, and I like the colour hehe. Nice stud/dots! Did you get recognition for the Walking Dead Mani?

    • TopCoatIt March 29, 2012 at 12:53 pm #

      It’s a pretty color, just not what I thought I was buying. The Walking Dead nails, she took the post down and we worked it out via email. All is well. 🙂

  3. kayspolish March 29, 2012 at 8:46 pm #

    Those are very cool. I would prefer them to actual studs since my manis last for about two days tops.

    • TopCoatIt March 29, 2012 at 8:52 pm #

      I HATE taking off glitter, so I can’t imagine that I would have the patience to get studs off. I too change my polish almost every day.

Comments are closed.

