Sideways Ruffian

28 Mar

I don’t know what to call this other than a sideways Ruffian.  By the way, can anyone tell me why a ruffian is called such?  Is it named after someone?

I don’t think this is a true Ruffian being that it’s multiple layers, multiple colors.  Can we talk about the colors?  I’m loving this combination!

This is another design that can be done with just the brushes in your polish.  I started by painting each finger a different of the five colors I chose.  Then layered a color at a time taking care to make sure that each nail was different.  This was an easy design, but definitely took some dry time.  I used Jordana Quick Dry top coat in between layers and worked on this design throughout the day to try to avoid drying issues.

The colors I used for this manicure are as follows:
brown- Sinful Colors Nirvana
blue- Sinful Colors Mint Apple
white- China Glaze White on White
orange- Cloud 9
purple- Jordana Purple Bright

All topped off with Seche Vite.

11 Responses to “Sideways Ruffian”

  1. lauriestrode March 28, 2012 at 6:13 am #

    The Ruffian Nail name derives from when CND did a specific manicure for Ruffian(a fashíon house) for their runway show back in 2010 for their fall collection that year.

    Michelle Mismas from All Lacquered Up did a great post on this two years ago. You actually have to Matte it to achieve the specific look they came up with.
    http://www.alllacqueredup.com/2010/06/get-the-look-the-cnd-ruffian-matte-moon-manicure.html

  2. lauriestrode March 28, 2012 at 6:15 am #

    Oh btw, I really love your version – it is very delicate and cheerful. I think I will go all in and do the original 😀

    • TopCoatIt March 28, 2012 at 9:20 am #

      Awesome information! Thanks Laurie!

  3. KarenD March 28, 2012 at 10:22 am #

    Such a great mani! Love the color combo!

  4. Laurie March 28, 2012 at 11:55 am #

    Holy cow I LOVE this color combination! This looks amazing!

    • TopCoatIt March 28, 2012 at 12:07 pm #

      Aren’t the colors fun! Thanks KarenD and Laurie!

  5. Rachel Susko March 28, 2012 at 3:46 pm #

    Ooh, I bet Mint Apple is an awesome polish on its own. Love the retro vibe coming from the color combos.

  6. SeeSarah Swatch March 28, 2012 at 6:00 pm #

    what the heck… stop with all these good ideas, you’re making my nails jealous!

    • TopCoatIt March 28, 2012 at 6:02 pm #

      LOL! Thanks Sarah!

  7. jackie March 28, 2012 at 6:09 pm #

    Love this, great color combo!!

  8. Cheryl Cheryl April 3, 2012 at 4:45 pm #

    LOVE this!!!!

Comments are closed.

