Twinsie Tuesday: A Disappointment

27 Mar

Before I get down to business, can I just say that I have some of the most amazing readers out there!  Seriously!  You’re all so complimentary!  I so, so, sooo, appreciate your comments, loyalties and feedbacks.  I sincerely thank you!

Twinsie Tuesday!  I know many of you may be appalled at what I’m about to say…I found Revlon Whimsical to be a let down.  And that’s exactly what this week’s edition of Twinsie Tuesday is all about; a hyped up polish that turned out to be a disappointment.  Whimsical was a true lemming for me.  I wasn’t overly impressed with it, but just had to have it.

I’ve had it for a couple months and hadn’t tried it yet so this was the perfect opportunity for me to see if it could live up to all the hype.  I wanted this to be super light and airy so I put it over China Glaze White on White.  I have a problem with glittered polishes that need 17 layers to give good coverage and enough glitter.  This was exactly that kind of polish.  I wanted so badly to love this polish, but I don’t anticipate using it again.

I thought it was too light.  Although choosing a darker base polish would fix that.  I just saw baby shower when I looked at it.  Really.  This is the polish I would probably pick to wear to a baby shower or maybe a party where a baby’s gender was being announced.  I felt eh, meh about his polish.  There was a shoulder shrug in there in case you didn’t catch it.  I’m happy, at least, that I paid a Revlon price and not a Deborah Lippmann price for Glitter in the Air.

Be sure the check out all the other disappointments today:

Amanda of Amandalandish
Anna of Going to the Showing
Anne of Grape Fizz Nails
Ashley of Art Evolve
Brandi of The Collegiate Nail
Chelsea of Nailed Blog
ChiChi of I’m Just Me…ChiChi
Jenn of All That is Gorgeous
Jenna of I’m Still Thinking
Katherine of Haul of Fame
Marisa of Polish Obsession
Meredith of Polish and Charms
Nory of Fierce Make Up and Nails
Sarah of See Sarah Swatch

12 Responses to “Twinsie Tuesday: A Disappointment”

  1. Amanda March 27, 2012 at 7:23 am #

    I also felt that Whimsical was a bit of mass hysteria as well…but since I’m not a glitter lover, I chalked my ambivalence up to that. Glitterphobia notwithstanding, I do like this on you! It’s soft and sweet, even if it doesn’t blow your mind.

  2. MariJo March 27, 2012 at 9:01 am #

    This is actually one of my favorite polishes. However, I don’t mind not having too much glitter. Sorry you didn’t like it ;(. I do think it looks great on you, lol.

    • TopCoatIt March 27, 2012 at 3:58 pm #

      Thanks MariJo and Amanda. I think I just prefer darker or more vibrant colors.

  3. Rachel Susko March 27, 2012 at 1:28 pm #

    I really love the colors of the glitter, but the polish itself… yuck. It kind of just looks like…snot? Maybe I’m also getting negative vibes because it looks like a really weird shade of mint compared to what’s hot right now (and I’ve been really happy about the mint trend).

    • TopCoatIt March 27, 2012 at 4:01 pm #

      Eweeeee… I don’t see snot, but can definitely see where you’re getting it. Yeah, if I use it again I’ll try layering it over a darker color.

  4. mary k March 27, 2012 at 4:23 pm #

    I said the SAME thing about it being a good color for a baby shower!! But I totally agree, I ordered it online, tried it once, and it now just sits there (and I like glitters!)

  5. Laurie March 27, 2012 at 8:56 pm #

    I laughed so hard at your quote of needing 17 layers of a glitter to make it work! OMG so true. I love some glitter but as I’m a stamper it’s not really great for stamping over. I never was attracted to Glitter In the Air so I definitely passed on Whimsical

  6. Katherine @ Haul of Fame March 27, 2012 at 10:07 pm #

    This is pretty on you! This was a lemming for me when it was originally released by Deborah Lippmann, but I couldn’t bring myself to buy it due to the fact that it looked like a baby shower in a bottle lol. I was glad I could get it for $5 from Revlon. 🙂

  7. ChiChi March 28, 2012 at 12:55 am #

    I like the softness of Whimsical but can understand you wanting a little more.

  8. Anne Thompson March 28, 2012 at 10:41 am #

    I AM appauled! Just kidding 🙂 I think your swatches of Whimsical are lovely, and I like the color you put it over, doesn’t look like snot to me, hehe. I still looove Whimsical 🙂

    • TopCoatIt March 28, 2012 at 10:46 am #

      Ha ha… Thanks Anne. 🙂

  9. triztron March 28, 2012 at 12:46 pm #

    Bleah! I try not to buy into polish hype unless there is good (usually geeky) reason. Yet I fell for Whimsical. I painted ONE nail, was absolutely disgusted with how it looked on me (which is dramatic, yes) and then took to my blog asking if anyone wanted to swap. I was even ready to just give it to someone on the street lol. I don’t know why I thought I would like it. I am not big on sheer pastels lol.

Comments are closed.

