Rainbow Dart

19 Mar

I’m really loving these, what I’m calling, dart manis lately. I seem to think of a new color combination that I want to try each time I sit down to do my nails. I’m restraining myself though.

I love the idea of this one a lot more than I love the actual result.  It’s just not that clean and it’s really bothering me.  I didn’t actually keep it on very long because of it.  Again I used acrylics for my rainbow because of their opacity.  Try layering a red polish over black and you’ll need at least three coats to get decent coverage.  I guess I could have done a white dart, then layered my rainbow over the top of the white and been able to use polish.

In the process of this design I also learned that using acrylic paints with a tape mani is a bit trickier than a polish tape mani.  With polish you want to take the tape off quickly, while the polish is still wet.  With acrylic I learned you should wait for it to dry, and even then, the tape may pull some of the paint off or stretch it out.  Not a fan of taping with acrylics.  Lesson learned.  However, I can’t promise I won’t try it again in the future and learn this disappointing lesson all over again.

6 Responses to “Rainbow Dart”

  1. Amanda (Mae) March 19, 2012 at 6:59 am #

    I think it looks really cute! I am the same way unless its perfect I am ready to take it off! But I think it came out good! 🙂

  2. jackie March 19, 2012 at 7:00 am #

    this is really pretty!

  3. NailDays March 19, 2012 at 10:27 am #

    Wow, these look so good! When I do chevron like shapes I always tend to go in reverse, doing the tip of the nail last, but I think I’ll give it a go the other way round… Maybe with pastels… 🙂

  4. MariJo March 20, 2012 at 12:24 pm #

    I think this is so cute!!

  5. Tara April 17, 2012 at 9:23 pm #

    This is so much fun! I have an idea I want to do with black and rainbows, and it is always fun to see what others come up with.

    • TopCoatIt April 17, 2012 at 9:56 pm #

      Thanks! I went through a major rainbow phase a while back.

Comments are closed.

