An Apple a Day

7 Mar

It’s a little ironic that I don’t like apples all that much.  They sure do look cute on my nails!  I’ve been a little reluctant to do these now because it seems that they would be much more appropriate in the fall.  I just kept going back to it though, so here we are.  I love it!

Wouldn’t this be really fun for a teacher when school starts up each year?  It’s just so cute!  My base color is a new one I just picked up, OPI Sit Under the Apple Tree.  It’s a very sheer, light, yellowy, green with a teeny, tiny bit of holo shimmer in it.  It’s so pretty.  I’m excited to try it over different colors.  Here, it’s not layered over anything.  Just two coats over my naked nail.

My green, Granny Smith apples are Orly Green Apple.  The red is China Glaze Velvet Bow and the brown stems and white highlights are acrylic.  I used a tiny striping brush to do the stems, a white Stripe Rite nail art paint for the highlight and just the bottle brushes for the apples.  Yay for nail art with bottle brushes!  Mmmm… now I want some caramel.

7 Responses to “An Apple a Day”

  1. Cheryl Cheryl March 7, 2012 at 12:50 pm #

    those are really nice. Perfect apples!

  2. Jenna Froggy March 7, 2012 at 9:46 pm #

    These are so cute!!!

  3. Sarsha March 8, 2012 at 1:33 am #

    They look fantastic! The colors go so great for apple too. I just want to crunch into your accent nail!

  4. jackie March 8, 2012 at 5:18 am #

    These are sooo cute, my daughter is a kindergarten teacher…she needs these!!

  5. SeeSarah Swatch March 8, 2012 at 7:47 am #

    really great apples. love that red one! they turned out amazing:]

  6. TopCoatIt March 8, 2012 at 10:06 am #

    Thanks everyone! I was sad to take these off. I feel that way a lot about fun manis.

  7. thebirdofparadise August 1, 2012 at 9:25 pm #

    This is quite possible the most adorable mani I have ever seen. The colors work so well together. BTW, as I am perusing your entire blog tonight (just discovered you) I am really admiring your excellent sense of color all the time. You are lucky to have such innate talent!

Comments are closed.

