Green Missoni

1 Mar

It’s March first!  Hence the green.  I tried a missoni several weeks ago and it was a failure so I didn’t even complete the mani. I’ve been wanting to try it again, so here’s my second attempt.  I have to be honest and say that I’m still not a fan of this design. I just find it to be messy.  I have a steady hand and can do pretty detailed work, but I cannot get those little zig zags to look nice and clean.  I went with green because St. Patrick’s Day is coming.  Maybe it would look better in a different color.  I don’t know.

I know it’s pretty trendy right now and that’s probably why I tried it, but I just don’t think I’m a fan.  I started with a base color of Orly Green Apple then did my lines in Kleancolor Green Grass, OPI Uh-Oh Roll Down the Window, China Glaze Liquid Leather and China Glaze White on White.

What do you think about my missoni?  Is this a trend you are liking?

3 Responses to “Green Missoni”

  1. Emily March 1, 2012 at 11:16 am #

    I like the monochrome palette, and I like the particular hues you chose! I think what makes the Missoni look work is the randomness, both in color and in pattern. It’s something about how shades of green that probably shouldn’t complement each other, like Green Apple and Uh-Oh, look good when they’re coordinated just so. I wonder if you’d like the effect better if you broke away from the ordered pattern and just painted different colored stripes arbitrarily, almost without looking at which brush you’re reaching for when you add the next stripe.

    • TopCoatIt March 1, 2012 at 11:31 am #

      Random instead of a pattern, good idea Emily! If I ever try missoni again, I’ll do that. Thanks a bunch!

  2. Laurie March 1, 2012 at 2:22 pm #

    I think it looks great! I love all things green during March!

Comments are closed.

