Seurat Inspired Stipple Mani

25 Feb

Do you remember learning about this painting when you were in elementary school?  This is “A Sunday Afternoon on the Island of La Grande Jatte” by Georges Seurat.  When I read that Sarah over at Chalkboard Nails was hosting a contest I started brainstorming.  Her rules (in part) state that other than the brush that comes with the bottle of polish, your only tool can be a dotter of some sort.  One of the first things that came to mind was this work by Seurat.  It’s called stipple art, using dots to create your pattern.

Here’s what I came up with…

A stippled rainbow with a stippled pot of gold at the end.

This baby took a ton of polishes!  I think I counted 17.  I started with a base color of China Glaze White on White,  then a coat of OPI Swedish Nude to tone down the gleam on the white.  Then the dotting started.  I used a light and a dark shade of each color.  I did the whole rainbow in the lighter colors first, then filled in the gaps with the darker shades.  Then did the pot of gold in the same manner.

The only complaint I have about this mani is that if my fingers aren’t all lined up like this, it just doesn’t have the same impact.  I guess that’s what I get for doing a design that spans across all my nails.  Despite this, I really like it!  It’s putting me in the mood for spring and getting me thinking about St. Patrick’s Day.  What do you think of the stippling technique?  Does it just look messy?  Wish me luck in the contest!

Now let’s catalog the polishes I used for this design:
Purples are OPI Do You Lilac It? and WnW Buffy the Violet Slayer
Blues are Sinful Colors Aquamarine and Julep Marisa
Greens are Orly Green Apple and Kleancolor Green Grass
Yellows are American Apparel Butter and Sinful Colors Pull Over
Oranges are WnW Sunny Side Up and Jordana Orangesicle
Reds are Color Club Reddy or Not and China Glaze Phat Santa
The pot is China Glaze Liquid Leather and CND Asphalt
The gold is Sinful Colors Pull Over and Sinful Colors This is it

7 Responses to “Seurat Inspired Stipple Mani”

  1. rins February 25, 2012 at 10:00 am #

    This looks amazing! I haven’t done a rainbow inspired mani. I might try it soon. It looks really cheerful. 🙂

    • TopCoatIt February 25, 2012 at 10:24 am #

      Thanks Rins!

  2. SeeSarah Swatch February 25, 2012 at 10:42 am #

    dang!! this must have taken so much time!! love the technique you used:]

    • TopCoatIt February 25, 2012 at 10:51 am #

      It actually didn’t take too long. I didn’t have to wait for anything to dry so I could just move from one color to the next.

  3. Stacy February 25, 2012 at 2:05 pm #

    This just makes me so happy!!!
    Good Luck 🙂

  4. Deepika February 25, 2012 at 10:57 pm #

    Its very pretty 🙂

  5. Beverly Taylor February 27, 2012 at 1:15 pm #

    Love the way this looks! I may have to try this myself. 😄

Comments are closed.

