Birthday Candles Nails

23 Jan

Happy Birthday to me!  It’s my birthday this week!  Yahoo!  To add to the festivities, I’ll be doing a few birthday themed manis.  I want to wear these birthday candles all year round.  They’re just so cute!  I must say I’m pretty impressed with my flame painting abilities.  🙂  I taught my 18 month old daughter to “blow them out.”  Cutest thing ever.

I used Cult Nails Mind Control as my base color.  Obviously these bright colors weren’t going to show up on such a dark base, so I painted the candles and flames with my white Stripe Rite acrylic paint.  The pink/purple candle is Nina Ultra Pro Punki Purple.  The green is Orly Green Apple and the blue is Sinful Colors Savage.  My flames are actually three different colors.  The yellow is Sinful Colors Pull Over, there’s some Sinful Colors Cloud 9  in there and the darker orange that you can really see is Jordana Orangesicle.

I topped this off with Jordana Quick Sine.  I was disappointed to see some considerable tip shrinkage within a few hours, but only on my middle finger.  Kinda strange that it only happened on one finger.  I do have a habit of rubbing the tip of my nails with my thumb, so that may have contributed to it.  Despite the shrinkage, Jordana Quick Shine is still my go to top coat.

9 Responses to “Birthday Candles Nails”

  1. rins January 23, 2012 at 10:26 am #

    A.M.A.Z.I.N.G. !!!

  2. Amanda January 23, 2012 at 11:44 am #

    Happy birthday!!! These look so cool!

  3. Laurie January 23, 2012 at 2:07 pm #

    Happy Birthday!!!! These look awesome!!! You got so detailed with the flame! I love them!

  4. Sonoma Bento January 23, 2012 at 2:13 pm #

    So good! It’s almost my birthday too, I might make this mani for myself. 🙂

  5. Jacky January 23, 2012 at 7:16 pm #

    Oh my gosh, I love those! They look so real you almost want to cringe because they’re going to burn your cuticle. lol

    Awesome mani! 🙂

  6. SeeSarah Swatch January 23, 2012 at 7:54 pm #

    happy birthday!!! Hope it’s amazing:] love the little candles, especially the flames! they’re so realistic

  7. thepolishwell January 23, 2012 at 8:29 pm #

    So cute!! Happy birthday to you! 😀

  8. Cheryl Cheryl January 24, 2012 at 9:30 am #

    NICE! those flames look really real! wow.
    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!! 🙂

  9. TopCoatIt January 24, 2012 at 9:40 am #

    Thank you all for the compliments and birthday wishes!

Comments are closed.

