Fading Polka Dots

28 Dec

Ahhh…  That was a nice couple of days off.  My nails are naked at the moment and I must say I’m enjoying it a bit.  I do have a few new things I want to show off though, so I’ll be back at it soon.

One of my favorite bloggers, Chalkboard Nails, did a mani like this with white and red.  It reminded me of Minnie Mouse, but I loved it. This design was inspired by Sarah.  I wore it to my husband’s work Christmas party.  I started with Icing Glimmer, sponged on O.P.I. Outback Aphrodisiac, then dotted on more Glimmer until it faded back into itself.  I think the face that Glimmer is a glitter camouflaged the fading effect a little as opposed to a creme finish.  This mani didn’t last long though because there was some significant shrinkage.  I don’t recall any shrinkage the last time I used Glimmer though.  I want to do some experimenting and see if I can figure out a way to prevent that.  It’s so frustrating when you’ve spent so much time on a cool design and it shrinks.  Grrr!  I loved this design and I will definitely play with it again.  Thanks for being so creative Sarah!

3 Responses to “Fading Polka Dots”

  1. rins December 28, 2011 at 6:39 pm #

    I can see why you are so fond of this design! It looks gorgeous! 🙂

  2. Sweet Surcee (@SweetSurcee) January 6, 2012 at 6:30 pm #

    Beautiful! I love the color combo!

    • TopCoatIt January 6, 2012 at 8:10 pm #

      Thanks Sweet Surcee! I tried the same design again today with different colors. I’m planning to post it tomorrow.

Comments are closed.

