Acetone Wash Nails

8 Dec

I guess these aren’t technically acetone wash because I used a non-acetone polish remover to do it.    Whatever you want to call them, I think they’re pretty cool.
I did one good layer of each of my polishes and waited several hours until they were pretty dry.  Then took a cotton swab soaked in non-acetone nail polish remover and started rubbing.  I first saw this technique on Nail Nerd, and thought it was pretty awesome.  It was kinda hard to photograph because it ends up with pits in it so the light hits it a little wonky.  I really like this effect though.  I’ve read of people using nail files rather than nail polish remover to achieve the same effect.  I thought the polish would get a bit gummy and pilly if it wasn’t completely dry if I tried to file it.

The polishes I used for this mani were Orly Terracotta, Sinful Colors Pull Over, Sinful Colors Aquamarine and WnW Buffy the Violet Slayer.  What do you think of the acetone wash look?  Do you think you’ll try it?

7 Responses to “Acetone Wash Nails”

  1. SeeSarah Swatch December 8, 2011 at 9:22 am #

    ahhhh this looks SO cool!! i need to try this! amazing:]

  2. hamilton teen December 8, 2011 at 6:11 pm #

    I love the design! So fashionable and stylish.

  3. Ashley December 9, 2011 at 10:26 pm #

    What a cool effect! I’ll be trying this soon, thanks for the idea! 🙂

    • TopCoatIt December 9, 2011 at 11:13 pm #

      Thanks Ashley! I wish I could take credit for this technique. It is a super fun one.

  4. ourpaintedworld December 23, 2011 at 6:29 pm #

    these remind me of Gobstopper candy!! LOL! Can’t wait to try it out!

  5. Julie January 31, 2012 at 7:50 pm #

    Love love it so much, such an amazing idea, I can´t wait to try it now

  6. KK/BLINGnailss July 5, 2012 at 2:14 pm #

    I love this! I have to try this, so awesome!

Comments are closed.

