Lace Nails Tutorial

1 Dec

When I guest posted on Amandalandish last week, I promised a tutorial for these awesome lace nails. Here you go!  For my lace I headed over to my local fabric store and bought some lace trimming.  I got 18″ just to make sure I had plenty.  I didn’t want to mess up a few times and run out of lace.  It was only like $1.25.I started with a base color of Sinful Colors Mint Apple.  While that was drying, I cut my lace.  I held the lace up to each nail to decide how I wanted it to line up.  I started with the rough shape and size of my nail and continued to trim here and there until it was just right.  I used very sharp, small craft scissors and tweezers to hold the small pieces.  You can wait to trim the length until after you’ve “glued” the lace to your nail.  I’ve heard of people using sharp nail clippers to do this.  I found it easier to trim it to size first.  You can sort of use the design of the lace as a grid to help you keep track of where to cut.

You can see here that there is a piece of lace customized for each nail.

To “glue” them down I used a thick top coat that dries a bit slower than Seche Vite.  This Jordana top coat is very comparable to Seche Vite, but doesn’t dry quite as fast.  Go one nail at a time.  Put a generous coat of your chosen top coat on your nail, grab your piece of lace with your tweezers and lay it on your nail.  You have some time, so make sure you get it on straight.  Now you want to press it down a bit with your finger.  If you lick your finger, it won’t stick to the polish.  I’m sure you could get it wet in the sink too. 😉  Once you get each nail glued, add your finishing top coat.  Go slow when you brush it on to avoid air bubbles.  You’re done!

Ta da!  And you thought lace nails were going to be hard!  Cutting the lace to size is the time consuming part.  Now you can totally customize your lace nails.  You can pretty much use any lace and pair it with any polish color.

I used 2 coats of Seche Vite to finish off this mani.  It was still a bit bumpy and the edge of the lace around the edge of my nail was a bit scratchy.  These were surprisingly easy to take off too.  Once you get the top coat off with your polish remover, you can peel the lace off, then remove the underlying polish.

I loved this mani and was sad to take it off.  I didn’t eve get to show it off; not even to my husband.  I’ll definitely be doing this again.  If you try this design, send me a link; I’d like to see it.  Let me know if you have any questions, suggestions or if I missed anything.

5 Responses to “Lace Nails Tutorial”

  1. Amber Johnson December 1, 2011 at 9:09 am #

    OMG this looks amazing!!

  2. marty g February 15, 2012 at 3:08 am #

    ooooooo! i love these!!

  3. Sarah June 3, 2012 at 7:36 pm #

    Beautiful. Just beautiful. Wish I had the time to do this!

  4. aspiringalmond June 10, 2012 at 10:36 am #

    Wow ! I’m going to try this, I thought lace nails were alot harder to do !

  5. reginna danielle January 31, 2013 at 12:10 pm #

    ima try for valentines but instead of green ima try a red red lipstick red nail poilshh then add the black lace nice i luvv it!! also it would also look nice if u cut the lace to cover only the nail tips like a french tip but lace tip and do one finger full lace nice 😀

Comments are closed.

