Chevron Nail Tutorial

30 Nov

Last week I guest posted on See Sarah Swatch with this awesome chevron mani. I promised a tutorial so here you go.
*Please excuse my dry skin.  I took off one mani and started into the next without moisturizing between.

I started with a white base of Sinful Colors Snow Me White.  The yellow I used is Sinful Colors Unicorn and it takes several coats to get good coverage.  It’s tends to be really streaky if you don’t do 4+ coats so to remedy that I put it over white.  One good coat of Unicorn over Snow Me White was pretty good.

I used some pinking shears to cut lots of small, little strips of scotch tape.  You have to make sure you line your zig zags up when you’re cutting.  Wait until your polish is totally dry before you put tape on it.  If you want to use a fast drying top coat to speed up the process, go for it.  Stick the strip to your hand a few times to get most of the sticky off the tape before you stick it to your nail.  If you use full strength sticky tape, it will likely pull your polish off.  Line the strips up to your liking.  I used tweezers to help with this since the strips were so small.  Press them down firmly and use an orange stick to get into the sides of your nails.

Apply one coat of your second color, blow on your nail for a few seconds and apply another coat to get full coverage.  While your polish is still wet, carefully take your tape off.  Put on your top coat and you’re done!

This is an example of what will happen if your base color is not completely dry before you start sticking tape to it.  Beautiful, right?

I love this chevron mani.  I guess I will have to get myself a pair of pinking shears so I don’t have to borrow them from my neighbor the the next time I want to try this.  The grey polish is Sally Hansen Wet Concrete.  Let me know if you have any questions.

**Check out my other Chevron manicures HERE.

7 Responses to “Chevron Nail Tutorial”

  1. SeeSarah Swatch November 30, 2011 at 1:43 pm #

    so cute! & great tutorial:]
    wish i had the patience for nail art stuff haha

    • TopCoatIt November 30, 2011 at 1:50 pm #

      Thanks Sarah! There are plenty of nail designs that don’t take that much time. Start simple.

  2. Sophie November 30, 2011 at 3:53 pm #

    Oh, this was really cute 🙂

  3. jstosich0621 February 24, 2012 at 9:49 am #

    I still just love these ones the most. Would be fun to do a Missoni print with a bunch of different colors with this method.

  4. workplaypolish May 30, 2012 at 12:03 pm #

    So cute and such perfect lines! You’ve inspired me!

  5. Natalya December 3, 2012 at 3:32 pm #

    This is super cool and im actually in the process of doing this right now<3

    • TopCoatIt December 3, 2012 at 7:45 pm #

      Thanks! I hope yours turns out great!

Comments are closed.

